2014 Mitsubishi Outlander?

Junk or hidden gem? A brief bit of research shows prices for these models are lower than other s of the same year and mileage. That's usually not a sign of quality, but are they an exception?

2014, with the white tail light lenses? If so, the "worst" of the line up, but still very good. AC condensor was prone to leaking due to damage where the frost sensor was installed, but that usually caused a leak within a year or 2. Rear dampers can leak, front dampers: the protective cover over the piston rod can disintegrate.

Other issues we had were specific to the diesel engines (and their use case) which I presume this isn't. I have no experience with the 2.4 or the v6 offerings.

I would not hesitate to get an outlander if I was in the market for a car of that type, but that's the least appealing model to me.

Last edited:
In my book it's in the hidden gem category, as long as it's AWD and V6.
The I4 ones are a good cheap and spacious mode of transportation, for the money. Very basic, which is what I like.
Yes, there are better options, but they come at a higher cost.

Had to check what they looked like. Here’s a screen shot.

C41FA155-FFDB-4511-B48F-24D84FF9251D.png

I have one. Bought it new in June 2015. Has another year and a half warranty left. 2014 Outlander GT. 3.0 V6, AWD. It has a 6 speed transmission, not a CVT. It has 79K miles on it. Has never been in a shop for anything. No recalls, nothing. Uses no oil, no leaks. Here's what I've done to it.

routine oil changes with 0W-20 synthetic, various brands
one new battery
front and rear brake pads
brake fluid flush
coolant change
one transmission fluid change with Mitsubishi proprietary fluid
transfer case, rear dif oil change
two sets of tires, due for third set soon