Recent Topics
SAR B6P - Thoughts?
by 28oz. 12/12/18 03:59 PM
Time to sell the 1-ton Dually
by 02SE. 12/12/18 03:55 PM
Shell Rotella Grease
by WMW0505. 12/12/18 02:27 PM
Need to add attic ladder in stairwell
by Klutch9. 12/12/18 12:51 PM
Mystik JT-8 15w40, 2015 RAM EcoDiesel, 4,995 mi
by SavagePatch. 12/12/18 12:45 PM
Fram Tough Guard Air Filters at Rock Auto
by Snagglefoot. 12/12/18 12:42 PM
Electrical contact cleaner
by CELICA_XX. 12/12/18 12:32 PM
5w-30 in 277k mile chevy 350 tbi
by dogememe. 12/12/18 12:22 PM
voltage test for coolant condition
by NissanMaxima. 12/12/18 12:17 PM
paying Premiun for the name(infiniti/nissan
)

by 2008wrx. 12/12/18 11:25 AM
POE oil (R-410a)
by WyrTwister. 12/12/18 09:44 AM
Any Volvo Owners, need some help!
by LazyDog. 12/12/18 09:34 AM
NOACK & Sheer
by WyrTwister. 12/12/18 09:34 AM
Rotary help. 2010 series 2 RX8
by TinyVoices. 12/12/18 08:32 AM
Can you mathematically estimate top speed?
by KCJeep. 12/12/18 08:06 AM
2019 GM 6.2 AFM
by XL1200RFan. 12/12/18 07:32 AM
Dodge Challenger R/T Tips and Tricks?
by LoneRanger. 12/12/18 06:02 AM
MIL vehicle suggestion $8000
by madRiver. 12/12/18 06:00 AM
Newest Members
jefe_de_estado, CM613, Geardaddies, 01ws666, ariefnrst
66660 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
84 registered members (28oz, A310, Alfred_B, 2003f7, 9 invisible), 1,893 guests, and 42 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,987
Posts4,925,502
Members66,660
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday #4509520
09/06/17 08:27 PM
09/06/17 08:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
If I want to maintain a fast connection speed, I have to reboot about everyday it seems like.

Before Reboot
Ping: 18
Download: 1.52
Upload: 5.65

After Reboot
Ping: 19
Download: 57.51
Upload: 5.96

Cable Modem: Motorola MG7550

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509521
09/06/17 08:29 PM
09/06/17 08:29 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9,279
Phoenix
dishdude Online content
dishdude  Online Content
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9,279
Phoenix
Originally Posted By: Merkava_4
If I want to maintain a fast connection speed, I have to reboot about everyday it seems like.

Before Reboot
Ping: 18
Download: 1.52
Upload: 5.65

After Reboot
Ping: 19
Download: 57.51
Upload: 5.96

Cable Modem: Motorola MG7550


Sounds like you found your solution, get yourself a Clapper and clap off, clap on each night before bed.


2018 Challenger SRT 392 PUP 0w-40 Wix 57899XP
2018 GTI
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: dishdude] #4509529
09/06/17 08:33 PM
09/06/17 08:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Originally Posted By: dishdude
Sounds like you found your solution, get yourself a Clapper and clap off, clap on each night before bed.


Are you saying I should turn the modem off before going to bed ?

Modem getting clogged up with alien spaceship signals while I'm asleep ?

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509532
09/06/17 08:37 PM
09/06/17 08:37 PM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 393
AZ
Killer223 Offline
Killer223  Offline
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 393
AZ
see if there is a firmware update for the modem, else get a new one.


08 6.7 cummins G56
04 5.9 cummins
11 ranger 4.0
16 KTM 250 XC
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509533
09/06/17 08:38 PM
09/06/17 08:38 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9,279
Phoenix
dishdude Online content
dishdude  Online Content
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9,279
Phoenix
Originally Posted By: Merkava_4

Modem getting clogged up with alien spaceship signals while I'm asleep ?


Precisely! UFO


2018 Challenger SRT 392 PUP 0w-40 Wix 57899XP
2018 GTI
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509537
09/06/17 08:43 PM
09/06/17 08:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,554
Storrs, Connecticut
jeepman3071 Offline
jeepman3071  Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,554
Storrs, Connecticut
New modem time. Our last modem worked for about a year and a half before it needed weekly reboots. Stuff just isn't built to last anymore. The one before it lasted 6 years.


2000 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L (181k) - Pennzoil 10w30, Napa Gold 1516, Magnefine trans filter
2009 BMW 328i (36k) - Castrol Edge Euro 0w40, MANN HU816X
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: jeepman3071] #4509540
09/06/17 08:46 PM
09/06/17 08:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Originally Posted By: jeepman3071
New modem time.


It was brand new in June. ???

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509543
09/06/17 08:48 PM
09/06/17 08:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 635
Washington for now
WhyMe Offline
WhyMe  Offline
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 635
Washington for now
check your outside connections. i would get drops and slow speed frequently. i called the cable company and they came out and checked the connectors and said they were corroded. they changed them out for no charge. has not dropped a day since

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509553
09/06/17 09:00 PM
09/06/17 09:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,967
MTL, CANADA
Rolla07 Offline
Rolla07  Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,967
MTL, CANADA
Do you have a router connected after the Motorola? If so, it might be the router. Try rebooting the router and see if you get the same result. If not...have modem swapped again. Do you have wifi? Retest your speed after 20 mins or so...


2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509564
09/06/17 09:14 PM
09/06/17 09:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,039
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,039
Utah
Call Comcast and they will do a remote diagnosis. Even if they don't find anything-I'm sure you will be able to exchange the modem if you wish.

Comcast as a general rule has good tech support-they can actually "look" at your modem.

Much better than trying to find answers here.

Last edited by CKN; 09/06/17 09:16 PM.
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509592
09/06/17 09:54 PM
09/06/17 09:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 868
MA USA
andrewp1998 Offline
andrewp1998  Offline
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 868
MA USA
same for me. I rebooted router and its all ok now , router firmware update might be needed? i got to attempt it since its been going on to long . router is old. I bought it used in 2014 and just started using it again last month.


2001 Honda civic HX vtecE- 5 spd,232k+
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Rolla07] #4509598
09/06/17 10:06 PM
09/06/17 10:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Originally Posted By: Rolla07
Do you have a router connected after the Motorola?


The MG7550 is a WiFi modem. 5 Star rated at Amazon. Works perfect until it slows down.

I wonder if somebody has hacked into it using all the bandwidth and then get disconnected on the reboot.

Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509621
09/06/17 10:53 PM
09/06/17 10:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,448
[email protected] CZ firearm factory
Marco620 Offline
Marco620  Offline
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,448
[email protected] CZ firearm factory
Try making a static ip. It wont change and if you game or stream it seems to help. Running Cat6 cable right?


15' Civic R18 200,090k 0w20 Redline/Archoil9200/TEIN/Eibach/Injen/Tanabe Sustec/Borla Exhaust!
Going for 238,900 milestone. My house to moon is 238,900 miles!
Son of a Navy Corpsman. Support veterans!


Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Merkava_4] #4509682
09/07/17 05:54 AM
09/07/17 05:54 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 937
Indiana (IN)
shanneba Offline
shanneba  Offline
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 937
Indiana (IN)
Are you connecting to it with wifi?
Is the router close to a microwave or cordless phone?
Those can cause interference depending on the wifi band you are using 2.4 or 5 ghz.

Have you turned off the wifi power save mode?
https://motorolamentor.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/226794407-Wireless-Optimization-for-MG7550

You may have a wifi channel selected that is crowded by neighbors.Especially common in apartments.
This utility will show you surrounding wifi networks and the channels they use.
Pick the least used channel of the strongest signals near you and set your wifi to use it.
Using the Web interface for your cable modem. (see instructions in the link above.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html


Check the cable modem channel power settings-
https://motorolamentor.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115006259587

Last edited by shanneba; 09/07/17 05:55 AM.

2003 BMW 330Ci
2013 HD Sportster XL1200C
Re: Having to Reboot Cable Modem Everyday [Re: Marco620] #4509734
09/07/17 07:11 AM
09/07/17 07:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,116
Occupied Virginia
Bottom_Feeder Offline
Bottom_Feeder  Offline
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,116
Occupied Virginia
Originally Posted By: Marco620
Try making a static ip. It wont change and if you game or stream it seems to help. Running Cat6 cable right?

Not sure if serious...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™