Mobil 1 question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Donald
The ambient temperature of Texas is irrelevant at the engine operating temperature. Only comes into play at cold startup. Follow the temp compensated chart in the owners manual.

Agreed. Good post my friend. Follow the manual also known as the directions. Always.

Originally Posted By: edyvw
Originally Posted By: stcif
I have the same truck and motor. I've been running Mobil 1 0W20 EP for about the last 2 years. I've thought about going to 0W30 also but to say this is all confusing to me is an understatement.
Toyota specs 0W20 but then says you can use 5W20 but if you do you MUST switch back to 0W20 at next oil change. Then they mention in the manual you can use a heavier oil if conditions call for it (not in those words). What conditions? I've read on BITOG that lighter oils cool and lubricate better.
I'm keeping it simple and going by the speced oil. Just tried QSUD 0W20.

I would say stick to M1 0W20 EP.
As for 5W20, I think Toyota is trying to make it clear for customers what to use. 0W20 will have better cold start and that is when most of wear and tear happens to engine. They probably think that is big issue, so they want to make a point.

I will probably switch back to Mobil at some point. Thanks for the info. I have a lot to learn.

Originally Posted By: njohnson
I have the same truck and motor. I've been running Mobil 1 0W20 EP for about the last 2 years. I've thought about going to 0W30 also but to say this is all confusing to me is an understatement.
Toyota specs 0W20 but then says you can use 5W20 but if you do you MUST switch back to 0W20 at next oil change. Then they mention in the manual you can use a heavier oil if conditions call for it (not in those words). What conditions? I've read on BITOG that lighter oils cool and lubricate better.
I'm keeping it simple and going by the speced oil. Just tried QSUD 0W20.