Are these Pex lines at risk of disconnecting? What's wrong with this water heater?

Owen Lucas

$100 Site Donor 2023
Obviously, these don't look good. Home construction is 90's according to my buddy, he's not mechanical and doesn't want to touch these. I'm a little more mechanically inclined but have not worked with pex and don't want to touch these either.

Are these lines at risk of coming apart? Looks like galvanic corrosion between the pex crimp and copper pipe in my opinion.

Also, his water heater looks horrific. Is it a bad install? What is causing this rust/flaking and does it need to be replaced?

Hot Pex.jpg
Cold Pex.jpg
Water Heater.jpg

Yes, a real plumber is needed to clean up that horrible mess and diagnose the water heater problem..
That is about the worst looking jack-leg installation that I’ve ever seen.

I am a plumber. And you have a dangerous mess.
Is this a ticking timebomb and is it likely to let go and start leaking because of this condition? I told my buddy I wouldn't trust this and to turn off the water main whenever leaving the house. He's worried about the pex connection the most but if a plumber comes out might as well redo everything.

My guess is that the anodes in the hot water tank are gone.
I would say the same base on a 2013 install date. I used to get 6-10 years out of my water heaters before I started to replace the anode rods. Every time the tank developed a leak, it was the tops of the intake ports that were also badly corroded. Otherwise if it weren't for the age of the tank, it'd also be possible that there was a minor leak causing the corrosion.

Just replaced my Bradford-White electric water heater. Made in 2005 and still working great after seventeen years. I got a new insurance carrier and they required a much newer unit for coverage otherwise I would have kept it.

Sometimes they last a long time and sometimes not. Looks like that one has had the schnitzel.