BMW synthetic 5w-30 vs German Castrol

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie on the forum and am trying to absorb as much info as I can - - and there is an amazing amount of oil info on this forum. I've read through the threads on GC, in general, and BMW's synthetic 5w-30. I have a '02 330i zhp 6 speed and have been using the BMW 5w-30 with OCI of about 4000 mi. I do a wear metals UOA and have gotten pretty low readings; e.g. 7 ppm copper, 5 ppm iron, 4 ppm aluminum, 3 ppm lead, and not much shear back- - it stays in grade.

As far as I can determine, the BMW oil is ACEA A3/B3 rated, is formulated at the heavy end of the 30 wt spectrum (like GC), is a grp 4 PAO, and (judging from some of the UOA I've seen on the forum) has about the same zddp concentration as the GC: 800-900 phosphorus and zinc.

My question is this: would there be any advantage in switching to the GC? I know the GC is very highly thought of on this forum. I live in San Diego, so cold starts are not a concern.

Welcome to the board!

Given your UOA results and the short change intervals you're getting great performance from the BMW product. While you'll get a lot of posts recommending that you switch to something else, you've got a great engine that's doing just fine with the oil you're using.

GC is supposedly superior to the BMW 5W30, but the BMW stuff isn't bad especially at your intervals.

I've seen people claim that their UOAs are good even at the manufacturer extended intervals. I've also seen machines maintained on this interval that are a varnished, sludgy, filthy mess.

Over the years I've concluded (for myself) that the BMW stuff offers good wear protection but isn't very "clean" after 7kmi or so and starts to make a mess of things even though the wear numbers are still good.

Both are certainly good.