What handgun for a newbie/novice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm thinking about getting a handgun. While I have some shooting experience and went through a safety course about 15 years ago, I consider myself a newbie/novice.

What would be a good choice for someone like myself to get started with? The sole use, of course, will be going to the local range and developing my skills. Would a .22 caliber make sense since?

If you are just looking at something for target practice at a range, then a .22 would make sense. Cheaper to buy and cheaper ammo costs. It won't do diddly squat for protection, however. Choose based on what you plan to use it for, not just now, but down the road as your skills & confidence increase.

.22 makes sense. Even with multible calibers i still shoot a bit with the .22. Cheaper to shoot. Same basics of sight alignment and trigger squeeze apply. If you have friends, shoot several of their calibers to see what you shoot well. I would not focus on what caliber to buy as much as what you shoot well. Some people shoot .38 better some .45, some 9mm. For defense, you carry what you shoot well.

In .22 a Ruger Mark III or 22/45 pistols are pretty nice and relatively inexpensive. For 9mm I have a S&W M&P 9 and I think it's a great handgun. I would also look at a Glock 17 or 19 as well for 9mm.

Most people own glocks as their first gun/home security

Pretty accurate , not too expensive, easily to maintain.

It can take many different bullets up to 10mm , which gives you lots of choices.

I personally would go with Bretta a bit more stopping power in exchange for muzzle climb.

Originally Posted By: Voltmaster
Most people own glocks as their first gun/home security

Pretty accurate , not too expensive, easily to maintain.

It can take many different bullets up to 10mm , which gives you lots of choices.

I personally would go with Bretta a bit more stopping power in exchange for muzzle climb.