Eaton Ep-2 grease

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all. First post of many hopefully; Havent seen anything on this forum about this grease, but just to make it more known as a viable grease , I can attest to the quality of it. Its my go to grease for almost everything. Its well used in the heavy duty truck world, being a diesel mechanic I get way to many tubes of it. Just a fyi.

eaton ep-2

Attachments

• 0 bytes · Views: 32
Originally Posted by Jackstrw68
Hello all. First post of many hopefully; Havent seen anything on this forum about this grease, but just to make it more known as a viable grease , I can attest to the quality of it. Its my go to grease for almost everything. Its well used in the heavy duty truck world, being a diesel mechanic I get way to many tubes of it. Just a fyi.

eaton ep-2

Where do you find it?

You have to order from Eaton directly or call a truck OEM ( International, Kenworth, etc.. dealer) or Eaton dealer to purchase. If you know someone who is in the trucking industry as a mechanic they usually can grab you some as well. It is made by BASF for Eaton and is probably available from their resources under a similar type name.

Thank you for sharing. Compares very favorably to 'regular' cheap Chevron Delo EP-2, exceeds it on many parameters: thinner and stronger.

A few years ago while perusing Timken's web site lubrication documents, I remember an article talking about a grease's extreme pressure capability (Timken ok load) in regards to wheel bearing lubrication. The article suggested that at some point, too high Timken ok load was detrimental to good wheel bearing lubrication. The article did not give a specific cut off point. Most wheel bearing grease has a Timken ok load of approximately 50 to 80 lbs. The Mystic JT 6 high temp. grease tends to be on the high end at about 80 lbs. Timken ok, while most wheel bearing greases are around 50 to 65.