Inching closer to a new car: E60 M5 or E92 M3

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got super-lucky in that a local CarMax suddenly had both an E92 M3 and an E60 M5. Took a few hours this morning to head over and drive both to see if I'm really ready to sell the S4.

I drove the 2008 M5 first. It had the 6-speed manual (I wanted the SMG) and about 32k miles and they wanted $46k for it. Dark blue metallic with black interior & walnut trim.

The M5 is very roomy and feels upscale inside. It does feel a tad dated since the platform originates from 2003. Still, very upscale and everything felt and looked nice. Good leather, nice tactile feedback from the switches, etc. It was holding up very well. The iDrive is not as infuriating as people make it out to be though if I were driving and trying to do things it could be tricky; I am a tech/gadget guy anyways so maybe that's why I didn't mind it?

The 5.0L V10 is surprisingly "noisy" at idle when you're outside the car. Clarkson was right: it does sound a bit like a diesel. The powerplant is VERY smooth and when you're inside you can hardly tell it's running.

I ran it in all the different modes for the suspension, throttle, and power output. In the more docile modes (400hp, soft suspension, etc) it drives like a normal 5 series. Quiet, compliant, easy to drive. In the sportier modes, it absolutely lived up to expectations. Made all the right noises, had some serious hustle, and generally behaved as if it were not a 3800lb car. The split-personality thing really makes me think this would make a good daily driver. Totally smooth and quiet at 20, 40, 60, even 80mph.

Right on the showroom floor they had a gorgeous 2009 M3 coupe in white. Absolutely flawless condition with around 30k and an asking price of $47k. All options except navigation (bummer). It had the DCT.