Video: Cut-open Subaru 15208AA12A & FRAM PH9715

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey folks,

So curiousity finally got the best of me today and I decided to chop open a used Subaru of America 15208AA12A oil filter and a new aftermarket FRAM PH9715. I just wanted to see what, if anything, was different between the two.

This is the first time I've cut open an oil filter and I'm no expert with this stuff so if you have anything to add please comment.
55.gif
If anyone would like to see some picture instead I have several high-quality up-close shots.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z5FunfkPfjk

You're welcome!

Also, I annoted the video because I just dissassembled the pressure relief valve springs and found that the OEM Subaru oil filter does, in fact, have a bit more coil to it's spring and slightly more resistance when compressed vs. the aftermarket spring. To me it's very subtle but I suppose it's the difference between fully compressing at 12-14PSI(aftermarket) and 23PSI(OEM).

So, the only real differences I found between the two were the gaskets and relief springs. Other than that, it all appears to be identical.

Good video! About the bypass valve ... measure the diameter of the plastic valve piece on both filters to see if both are the same diameter. They look slightly different to me ... but could be an optical illusion due to the video.

They could very well use the same spring (which would make them feel the same when pushing them with a finger), but if one valve has less area (ie, smaller diameter), then it will take more PSI on the valve to make it start to open and move the valve the same distance open.

Also, looks like the spring and the white plastic valve on the Subaru filter has been discolored brown due to use. Does the brown wipe off? Kind of surprised it's so brown.