The mom of the guy I killed wants to talk...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Most of you know that I am a cop. I shot and killed a man who stabbed me in the head about six months ago.

Short version: The guy was apparently trying to kill his girlfriend, and when his mother stepped in to protect the girlfriend, the guy slashed his mother across the face with the butcher knife. The neighbors called 911 and I was the first officer on the scene. I showed up and the guy took off running. I chased him to the back of the residence and he attacked me with a butcher knife. I regained my footing and shot him three times, killing him at the scene.

Anyhow, the guy was only 20 years-old. His mother reportedly supports me and says I did what was necessary under the circumstances. (Unfortunately, I agree that it was necessary to shoot and kill her son, although I wish it never happened.)

Now his mother wants to meet with me and talk about the situation. It's still within the two-year statute of limitations, but I feel so bad for the lady that I want to speak with her and hear what she has to say.

Does anyone think this is a good or bad idea? If you've ever been through a "justified homicide" did you ever speak with the deceased person's family?

I want to meet with the lady, but I am worried that I will have a hard time looking her in the eye knowing that I shot and killed her son, no matter how justified I might have been.
frown.gif

AstroVic,
I sincerely hope that I never have to suffer what you are going through.

I can't offer any advice.

Are you in a policeman's union? Can they offer any advice? Do they have a Chaplain that can go with you?

This board is often a good place to turn to for advice and ideas on all kinds of things, but you are in a very unique situation here.