Any experts on flutes (musical)

I have decided to learn how to play the flute as something to do in retirement. Was thinking about a used flute. But many options. If the flute needs cleaning or pads replaced that could significantly add to the price of a flute.

Any experts out there?

Casn you rent a Flute ? In 4th grate I wanted to play the Trumpet in the school orchestra so
Dad rented a trumpet. .

Renting is a good idea.

Self taught or taking lessons? I'd expect a teacher to have a good trustable opinion here.

My daughter just had a flute given to her, was told it was a halfway decent one. I think the wife said it was only couple hundred to fix up? not sure, I tend to tune out what I'm spending on music lessons (piano lessons for 2 or 3, voice for 2, then one is taking oboe also).

Yamaha makes a decent entry level instrument. Should be able to find a good used one for a few hundred, or a new one for under $1,000.

When you’re ready to step up, there are several good choices - Yamaha, Powell, and Gemeinhardt, for example. Both of my daughters play flute - and both ended up with a Powell. I paid about $8,000 for the most recent Powell, but that was in 2015, and I suspect that the cost has gone up since.

Flutistry in Boston will let you try all of them before buying. https://www.flutistry.com/

Find a music store in a big town nearby - plenty of used entry level flutes out there - as kids try, and then don’t continue, music. See if they’ve got any decent used instruments.

Also, try these guys - brought a couple from them:

They have a line of “certified preowned”.

Finally - get a good teacher - one who can help you develop your embouchere. As you progress, you will want a silver head joint, at least, and eventually, a silver instrument. The tone difference is clearly evident, and you will appreciate the tone of a silver flute over that of a silver-plated aluminum one.

My daughters both learned from this wonderful lady: https://www.karenkevra.com/