2020 VW GLI 2.0L 70k mi; Amsoil 5w-20 Euro 8k mi

I havent posted on here in many years, I have 2 UOA I wanted to share & get some opinions on. It looks to me the amsoil performed a bit better but I'm no expert. The amsoil I used was the 0w20 Euro 508

Screenshot_20240209_092217_Drive.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
BTW this vehicle is driven about 70miles one way to work Monday thru Friday, mixed highway/city I usually turn off stop/start. I end up around 5000miles in a month give or take, Sometimes I drive my wife's car to split the miles a bit.

How was the engine noise on the skinny 508?

I had to add some 0W40 to quiet a 1.4T

I am of the opinion this series should be pretty clatter free other than the D.I. rail racket.

Reports look comparable but don't tell a tale of margin of safety - even when the line is crossed.

The values are too close. If you go to penny pinch, M1 kept a better flash point (which does not mean anything), and TBN has more Zinc.
But my take is both are well within the margin of error. Your commute is very easy on oil and engine.

How was the engine noise on the skinny 508?

I had to add some 0W40 to quiet a 1.4T

I am of the opinion this series should be pretty clatter free other than the D.I. rail racket.

Reports look comparable but don't tell a tale of margin of safety - even when the line is crossed.
It makes a bit of noise on cold starts below 50°F it sounds like piston slapping in the bores until operating temp. Then it quiets down. Side note* it Doesnt use any noticeable amount of oil, I have been considering running penzoil ultra 0w30 in the summer & mobil esp x2 0w20 in the winter. My local dealer was sending customers out with 5w40 castrol, After that I decline there complimentary oil changes.

Last edited:
- The wear and contamination values are fine; plenty of TBN left.
- There's no ability to use two single UOAs for a comparing/contrasting lubes; that's improper use of the tool