12 quart box oil - where have you been all my life?

This is my first time buying/using oil in a 12 quart box. The price/qt is decent at Walmart, but hardly a bargain. That said, the math works out because my modern cars that use modern oil both take 6 quarts. I like to change to different brand oils often, so not having orphan leftovers hanging around is a huge bonus.

I bought a 12qt box of Mobil1 0w-40 Syn and Valvoline 5w-30 Advanced Syn. First use was the Valvoline, and pouring this stuff is a dream. Set it up on some kind of stand and you can fill an oil filter fully with ZERO mess. It takes some precision to do the same pouring out of a plastic bottle, and downright challenging with a 5 quart jug.

On to filling the vehicle, I spilled a bit because I went full glory too quickly-- the oil tends to run out of one side of the plastic spout going slow, but the oil coming out will change angle when you open 'er up fully. After this first run, I'm certain I can fill a car without spilling a drop. On this particular car, it's tough filling with bottles or jugs-- very little open space to tuck the bottle into to get the spout closer to the fill port. I dislike cleaning/using funnels, so I've always used the aim, dump and pray approach. Although I've gotten quite good at the method, nothing beats the 12 quart box you just set atop the engine cover and go to town.

The six quart boxes I've used have no spout, just a seal which you rip off. Which again puts you at the mercy of fill port location. I hope the Mobil1 12 quart box has a similar adjustable spout as the Valvoline.
IMG_5722.jpg

IMG_5723.jpg

IMG_5724.jpg

Carrying a 25 pound box of oil to the engine and trying to pour it into the hole with your arms stretched out doesn't seem like much fun at all. It would have to be REAL cheap.
No idea why one would hold it with their arms stretched out when you can simply set it up somewhere on the engine bay, or macguyver some sort of platform for it.