Got a Speeding Ticket today

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm mad but I don't know at who.
How can I be mad at myself, I'm a good driver.

I was driving in a 45 MPH area.
Further up ahead (1/2 mile) the speed is 55 MPH.
This is a big radar stretch of road. People pulled over all the time.
I wasn't in a hurry (had all day) and if I knew I was speeding, I would have slowed down.

Well, the Radar Officer must have been in the 45 MPH area (just before the 55).
They got me going 57 MPH in a 45.

I know this has been discussed before. Could not find using Search.
I took the Defensive Driving Class 5 Months ago.
No other Tickets.

I will have to educate myself on Points, pleading down, dealing with Insurance Co.

I have the option of returning the Ticket by mail or in person.

I thought I read on this site about hiring a Lawyer.
Is that possible at low cost ? ? ?
Would I still have to appear in Court with all the looser (now I'm one of them) ? ? ?

Any advise would be appreciated.
And careful driving.

How fast were you actually going? I take it you were going 57 MPH in a 45 MPH zone. Is that right? Pay the ticket. Drive the speed limit. It isn't rocket science.

Plead not guilt, go to court, have a conversation with the officer or officer assigned that day and plead it down.

He got you with a radar gun @ 57 in 45 mph zone? I think you'd be wasting money with an attorney. I have a feeling you'll lose. I would try on my own to plead it down, you never know.

I was in a similar situation several years ago heading to Whidbey Island near Deception Pass. The speed limits change quite often, and if you miss the speed limit sign you're screwed. I got pulled over doing 45 in a 30 zone [?] at 0200. As it turns out the cop was a nice guy and moved there from Long Island several years ago. He cut me a break, and said he was really looking for drunken sailors.

If you were actually going the speed limit then by all means you should fight the ticket.