Can premium fuel stop fuel dilution?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Everyone,

According to the owners manual my car is designed to run on 87 octane gas or higher. Apparently Hyundai released a statement indicating the engine will put out an extra 10 horsepower on 93 octane fuel. They claim the ECU can adapt to different octane levels, if this is true, would it have any effect on fuel dilution?

Also would the car run leaner on 93 octane? My understanding is that when 87 octane fuel is used the ECU retards timing to prevent knocking. Basically it runs a little richer.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to fuel in general. On a side note I only use Top Tier gas.

-Thanks

Are you saying you have fuel dilution from the injectors in the oil sample?

Originally Posted By: Swift101
Hey Everyone,

According to the owners manual my car is designed to run on 87 octane gas or higher. Apparently Hyundai released a statement indicating the engine will put out an extra 10 horsepower on 93 octane fuel. They claim the ECU can adapt to different octane levels, if this is true, would it have any effect on fuel dilution?

Also would the car run leaner on 93 octane? My understanding is that when 87 octane fuel is used the ECU retards timing to prevent knocking. Basically it runs a little richer.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to fuel in general. On a side note I only use Top Tier gas.

-Thanks

I cant imagine that there would be much effect on dilution. Running premium allows the computer to advance the ignition timing, not lean out the mixture (at least that's not the first thing it does). So you'll get more power and better economy with premium because of the more advanced ignition timing, but any change in fuel dilution would be strictly a 2nd order effect.

Originally Posted By: 440Magnum
(at least that's not the first thing it does)
Contradicted yourself there.