Running uphill in 6th gear == bad for oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: blackman777
Jetta. I filled the tank with 91 last time so knocking shouldn't be a problem. The engine sounded nice and smooth. I don't shift down & up in order to avoid clutch wear/replacement. I just ride 6th gear all the way to work (unless there's a jam on the highway).

IMHO it would be easier on your car to down shift. Keep it in the peak torque range for going up hills. It is NOT going to wear your clutch out shifting your car. Clutch wear comes from slipping it on take off and riding it like a lot of new drivers will tend to do. I am a truck driver and have yet to wear out a clutch without having over a few hundred thousand miles on it. And in the work trucks that I have driven they sometimes will last 500,000 miles or better.

Gotch:This is the first time I have heard of "Lugging" explained like this. Do you have a reference paper we can review? I also have read that an engines maximum efficiency (lbs of fuel per HP)occurs at the max BMEP. I do know that maximum BMEP is the maximum stress on the rotating engine parts, but, engines are designed for this. Ed

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: blackman777
I've heard that turbos can "rev too high" if you push them too hard (while below 2000) but maybe that's just a flaw with VW's TDI engines?

Rev too high. Is this for real?
Carnoobie....or ght's close cousin maybe.

Last edited:
TDIclub posters claim it is. "Don't rev below 2000 as the turbo will try to produce boost and spin too high. Downshift to bring the rpms above 2000 and save your turbo." (shrug)

Originally Posted By: Eddie
I also have read that an engines maximum efficiency (lbs of fuel per HP)occurs at the max BMEP. I do know that maximum BMEP is the maximum stress on the rotating engine parts, but, engines are designed for this. Ed