CHEAP tires for my 98 Corolla

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Everyone,

I'm not that experienced at buying tires, mainly purchased in the past based on what my dad suggested.

Just wanted your opinions on what I am considering as I need to purchase a set(4) of tires for my Corolla within the next month or so before the snow flies anyway.

My size is p185/65r14, I guess I'm looking at a passenger "touring T" tire because they have a longer treadwear warranty even though you cant collect on it, from what I have heard.

Price
I am looking to spend $60 to $80/tire. I'm looking at 4 currently.

Uniroyal Tiger paw T rated, this is my current tire and I have 65k on it, can get for $60/tire when they have a sale, mounting included.

Cooper CS4 touring T rated (widely liked here I think) $72/tire, mounting included. $50 rebate.

Hankook H727 $80 from Discount tire (widely liked there I think and LOTS of online reviews that like them also a $50 rebate, I would have to pay to get them installed.

Michelin's X Radial $76 from Sams club, but I cant find it on their website anymore, no rebate. I would have to pay to get them installed.

My priorities are longevity of the tire, winter handling and price. I drive mainly in the city but my tachometer rarely goes above 3k, I drive pretty conservatively.

Thanks for your input!

Mark

Mark.....Check out www.tirerack.com

I ordered my last set of tires from TireRack....and was very pleased with their service and the tires I purchased.

Their website is excellent... with many reviews by purchasers of the particular tires they bought. They have all the rebates that are available...and I found that their prices were substantially less....even after shipping...than I could find locally.

The tires I ordered took only two days from the time I ordered them online.

If you can get the Coopers for that cheap locally, I would do that.