New Civic Si

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I don't post here much anymore since the dark days of my 01 SAAB 9-5 are well behind me. But long story short, I've been driving a Honda Fit since May 2009. Great little car but I just found it harder and harder to live with its shortcomings. The interior was loud and after driving two turbo'd saabs back to back, the Fit required...patience. I had all sorts of thoughts on what to replace it with. Everything from a used 911 to a Challenger. In the end, I took the easy way out. A rock took out the Fit's a/c condenser and while getting this diagnosis at the dealer, I noticed a new Civic Si w/ nav sitting on the lot in silver. This was the first nav-optioned Si I'd seen on the lot in a few visits and checks of the inventory online. 24 hrs later I was signing the papers.

I know the interior of the new civics gets panned but everything seems to flow better w/ the nav system in place instead of the nutty base dash layout.

Otherwise, the car is a real hoot to drive. I haven't owned a MT car since my 97 900 turbo met an ugly end in 2005. The new engine makes power low enough that I find myself rarely if ever needing to downshift for anything out on the highway.

Anywho, just throwing in a recommendation. If you want a decently fast cheap new car and don't want to take the v-6 muscle car route, don't overlook the Civic Si, if you can find one.

The civic si is a great car. Friend back in college had one, it was a total blast to drive. HOWEVER...as with most honda's, the interior is LOUD.

Last month, my wife and I test drove the civic EX on 3 seperate occasions, interior wind noise is very distracting. I presume the si is the same as the EX for wind/road noise.

I'm coming from a Fit! The interior of the Si is Lexus quite to me, lol!