Craftsman ratcheting elbow wrenches

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got a set of Craftsman ratcheting elbow wrenches for Christmas.
They looked good until I looked on the back, yep you guessed it “China” .
Disappointment set in an I put them down as just more cheap junk but
what the heck it’s the thought that counts, it was just the fact that I could have really used these if they were any good.

I started playing with them later in the day and was surprised at the finish and smoothness of these wrenches; they actually have a better finish than most of Craftsmans U.S. made and Gearwrench stuff,no waves or grinding scars in the metal and flawless chrome. I went and tried them on some tight bolts, no problem at all. If I were buying I would have passed on them without a second thought but I think these will be pretty decent. I still don’t like the fact they are Chinese but the quality seems okay.

The only real gripes I have is they are a metric set but the 12 16 and 18 is not included, I can understand the 16 and 18 but the 12?
The other minor issue was with the locks for the elbow joint, they were a little tight on a few of them but were fine after a shot of oil.

I can’t honestly say if I would buy them myself even now (the Chinese thing just doesn’t sit right with me) but they really do seem okay.If they were made in the U.S.A they would get a thumbs up.

I went through the same trauma after purchasing my corded Craftsman Professional drill about 6 years ago. Looked at the back and nearly returned it. I emailed the company asking some specific questions and they responded quickly.

I built my basement with that drill and my friend built his entire deck with it after realizing a cordless drill wouldn't cut it. So far, so good.