College costs shocked me...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by WyrTwister
There is a saying that was told to me by a professor . Those that can , do . Those that can not do , teach . Those that can not teach , go into administration .

I paid off my college loan and did not insist Uncle Sugar bail me out . Far as I am concerned , everyone can do so , too . Or go on to be a first responder . Think they get some sort of brake ?

That saying has been around for a very long time. I heard that in high school. Those that can, do, those who can't, teach, those who can't teach, teach gym.

Didn't end up with much college loans when I graduated, got Pell grants though so that paid for a part of it also got loans and worked. In college I was lucky enough to get part time jobs. I had taught myself how to type and knew how to use a computer so I was making about 2x to 3x more than minimum wage and that also helped to pay the bill. That's probably hard for any student to do these days.

It was described to me by someone who had just paid his daughter's first full year's tuition bill:

"It is roughly equivalent to going to the dealer, purchasing a brand new $50,000 Mercedes and then driving it off of the cliff before the insurance policy becomes effective"

Have fun, Dads out there and enjoy. Lucky you!!!

Sometimes I'm shocked that I muddled through somehow--took the grants when available, but borrowed about half of what it cost, graduated with $20k in debt and about $4k on my credit card. Think I paid it off in 10 years? plus two new cars and the wife's $20k of loans, and had kids during that time too. I guess engineering was a good gamble twenty five years ago. I suspect it still is, but not at today's cost.