Looking for a GOOD knife sharpener

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have quite a few kitchen knives that are very dull. I'm looking for a GOOD sharpener. Also, are ceramic knives able to be sharpened?

I'm very happy with my Chefs Choice Trizor 15, or whatever the 15 degree unit is called. I've converted all of my kitchen knives to 15 degrees and still have a 20 degree for the utility and pocket knives.

AFAIK, ceramics cannot be sharpened. I don't own any.

I am a professional chef and have been using this one for a few years on all types, shapes, and sizes of knives, and even on blades for food processor type equipment. https://smile.amazon.com/Presto-Eversharp-Sharpener-Three-Stage-Adjustable/dp/B004Q2503U/ref=sr_1_6?crid=11XGFA4OYQWF9&keywords=presto+knife+sharpener&qid=1557373472&s=gateway&sprefix=presto+kni%2Caps%2C178&sr=8-6

Fair grade knives can be sharpened conventionally. If what you have is especially rust resistant, chinese buttermetal, upgrade to a higher carbon more expensive knife, which you don't want to put through a dishwasher.

Ceramic can be sharpened but usually due to the grain whey will have good service until you shatter them, unless very expensive then you can get a ceramic sharpener off ebay/etc

Generally the sharpener choice is between skill level, results, and how much material is removed. You can get a basic carbide rod or better ceramic, and it will sharpen fine till it wears out, then it might be suitable still for honing before every use or two. You can get a diamond rod or plate, and it will take more material off and leave a more jagged edge more suitable for slicing rather than chopping, but you probably also want a honing steel to refine that after a few uses.

Then there are the lazy kitchen drag-through sharpeners. They are easy, and cheap, and make a decent micro-serrated cut, but wear the blade down the most. They might be the best bet for cheap stainless buttermetal, but will wear out an expensive knife too fast.