Recent Topics
"The new" Mobil 1 Racing Oil ?
by lawnguy. 03/24/19 06:32 AM
Arlen Ness passes
by 02SE. 03/24/19 03:15 AM
Plants - they learn and remember
by Shannow. 03/24/19 03:02 AM
Rotella Gas Truck
by jpstiles02. 03/24/19 02:53 AM
The case for quitting Facebook
by StevieC. 03/23/19 11:21 PM
Mixing Toyota Spec'ed 0w20 & 5w20
by David2431. 03/23/19 09:59 PM
Run old DOS games on your Wii
by StevieC. 03/23/19 09:51 PM
Live in PA? Need a car? Want something UNIQUE?
by 14Accent. 03/23/19 09:33 PM
Painting plastic
by HangFire. 03/23/19 09:27 PM
Rav4 vs Forester
by fdcg27. 03/23/19 09:07 PM
cleanser stain on cylinder liners
by neo3. 03/23/19 09:06 PM
Electronics and DC Voltage Question
by maverickfhs. 03/23/19 08:39 PM
Oil Change Tips for the Newbie
by StevieC. 03/23/19 08:39 PM
DashCams
by Eddie. 03/23/19 08:07 PM
Rough idle... Only in drive
by nicholas. 03/23/19 07:02 PM
Using synthetic blend or full synthetic oil
by FixItDad28. 03/23/19 07:01 PM
What's in Maxima oil?
by Truckedup. 03/23/19 06:29 PM
Newest Members
GSXRBullwinkie, Mark1970, FixItDad28, RandomJoe, Sciascia
67599 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
59 registered members (AurionX2, aquartlow, 2009Edge, 4WD, 97K15004WD, 67baccaruda, 9 invisible), 868 guests, and 60 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics286,321
Posts4,906,405
Members67,599
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Spektrum Internet Sux #4976229
01/11/19 03:39 PM
01/11/19 03:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 58
AL
Auae85 Offline OP
Auae85  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 58
AL
Misspelled some words in the title on purpose.

As it states, I have internet service by the afore-mentioned company, as well as cable TV. Aside for the crappy programming and poor reception on some cable channels (I have a 1080 pixel flat screen), their internet speed is horrible. Every month, my bill says I now have 100Mbps at no extra charge, but in reality, on a good day, I might get 26-28 Mbps, according to their speed test. Wednesday (1/9) I got a whopping 12 Mbps. I have a direct cable connection from my router to my laptop, and all of my equipment is capable of handling 100 Mbps and more. Here's something interesting - it says my internet feed is from Sugar Hill, GA - over 200 miles away from my home! Seriously?

Any ideas / suggestions on increasing speed, or will I just have to deal with it? Unfortunately, not a lot of competition in the area for internet service.

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976234
01/11/19 03:45 PM
01/11/19 03:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 537
Phladelphia
NYSteve Online content
NYSteve  Online Content

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 537
Phladelphia

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976235
01/11/19 03:49 PM
01/11/19 03:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,310
The Midwest
skyactiv Offline
skyactiv  Offline

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,310
The Midwest
You have cable TV?


Wife: 15' Audi A4 quattro 6 speed manual
Me: 13' VW GTI 3 door 6 speed manual

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976244
01/11/19 04:03 PM
01/11/19 04:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,064
NC
BigD1 Offline
BigD1  Offline

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,064
NC
They may have not provisioned your modem for the new speed.

What modem are you using? If you don't have one of the new DOCSIS 3.1 modems, tell them to send you one because that is the latest now.


1992 Toyota Pickup--Castrol GTX 10W-40--ACDelco PF53
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: BigD1] #4976260
01/11/19 04:17 PM
01/11/19 04:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,378
Raleigh ,NC CSA
rshaw125 Offline
rshaw125  Offline

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,378
Raleigh ,NC CSA
Originally Posted by BigD1
They may have not provisioned your modem for the new speed.

What modem are you using? If you don't have one of the new DOCSIS 3.1 modems, tell them to send you one because that is the latest now.


Yep. They sent me a brand new modem. They tweaked it over the phone and boom 200mpbs.


2012 Porsche Carrera S
2016 Ford Edge 2.0
2002 Taurus Vulcan SOLD
2006 Explorer SOLD
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976267
01/11/19 04:27 PM
01/11/19 04:27 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,790
St. Charles County, Missouri
csandste Offline
csandste  Offline

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,790
St. Charles County, Missouri
Got rid of Spectrum (then Charter) about twenty years ago-- cable only had dial up Internet. Went to turn back my equipment and was stuck in a long line of customers wedged into a tiny room. Woman ahead of me crapped her pants and announced to everyone "If you think I'm getting out of line, you're mistaken". Not a pleasant customer experience.

After seventeen years, I decided they were the only viable game in town. Was shocked when their tech showed up on time. Didn't try to push phone or cable on me. I wanted Internet and he gave me Internet. Speed averages 50 Mbps (yes I know they advertise 100+). Gotta say the experience is 180 degrees since my last experience. I would like competition and hopefully 5G will give that to me, but compared to Century Link, I'm a happy camper with Spectrum.


2017 Kia Soul Plus-- Super Tech Synthetic 5w30 59000 miles
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976284
01/11/19 04:52 PM
01/11/19 04:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,420
OBX & Central FL
NormanBuntz Offline
NormanBuntz  Offline

Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,420
OBX & Central FL
Spectrum probably is a shining star compared to Centurylink, which I have in both my NC and FL home. If I lived 7 miles away in a different county, I could have Spectrum.


2017 Honda Odyssey SE, 18K
2013 Honda Accord LX, 59K
2007 Honda Ridgeline RTS, 89K
2007 Infiniti M35, 107K
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976302
01/11/19 05:18 PM
01/11/19 05:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,344
Lakeville, MN
MNgopher Offline
MNgopher  Offline

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,344
Lakeville, MN
Compared to Frontier, Spectrum is great. Had our phone, internet, and cable through them, and in general, our service has been alright.

If you don't have a modem from them, ask for one or a replacement. (and no, there is no separate leasing charge for their modems - many years ago they got caught charging for lots of modems that they never actually had installed (I was one of them). They realized they had no idea who owned what out there...)

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976331
01/11/19 05:57 PM
01/11/19 05:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,918
Buffalo, NY
Nickdfresh Offline
Nickdfresh  Offline

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,918
Buffalo, NY
I get more than the listed speed with Spectrum, my speed tests come back as 120mbs and I'm paying for 100. So it's probably your modem...

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976393
01/11/19 07:12 PM
01/11/19 07:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 13,200
Central NY
Miller88 Offline
Miller88  Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 13,200
Central NY
I pay for 30 and get 60.
Technically I'm "rural". Can't complain


18 Forester 2.5I 6M
00 Jeep XJ
01 F-350 4x4 5M
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976397
01/11/19 07:16 PM
01/11/19 07:16 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,790
St. Charles County, Missouri
csandste Offline
csandste  Offline

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,790
St. Charles County, Missouri
Let 'em give you a new modem, but don't take the router. They give you a monthly charge for that.


2017 Kia Soul Plus-- Super Tech Synthetic 5w30 59000 miles
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976424
01/11/19 07:36 PM
01/11/19 07:36 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 58
AL
Auae85 Offline OP
Auae85  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 58
AL
My current modem is an Arris TM1602, supplied by Spectrum, and my router is a Cisco Linksys E1200, that is mine. Our local supplier was formerly Bright House Networks (formerly Time Warner), until they were bought up / merged into Spectrum. I have another account for my son in college, which was formerly Charter Communications, also now Spectrum. I have cable TV added to my package at my home location only, and both internet / cable cost approximately $152 per month. Just the internet only at the other location is approximately $66 per month.

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976483
01/11/19 08:46 PM
01/11/19 08:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,064
NC
BigD1 Offline
BigD1  Offline

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,064
NC
That's an old 3.0 modem. They now have 3.1 modems. I called, and told them I wanted one of the DOCSIS 3.1 modems, and got it a few days later in the mail. Also had the option of having a technician deliver and setup. Super easy to get going with the included instructions.

They sent me a Technicolor. The other two are UBEE and Hitron. No user access to the modem settings on the Technicolor. From what I read, UBEE modem settings can be accessed.


1992 Toyota Pickup--Castrol GTX 10W-40--ACDelco PF53
Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976499
01/11/19 09:05 PM
01/11/19 09:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,949
CA
spackard Offline
spackard  Offline

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,949
CA
I like Charter a lot more than AT&T.
As far as knowing your point of presence is 200 miles away, sorry to hear that, but IP traffic is carried on other protocols.
In the old days of having a cellular network card AT&T (in southern California) used to dump me out to the Internet in New York.
You can't do much about your Internet POP; but your ping response time will tell you how good or bad things really are.
My speedtest.net shows a ping response time of 17ms. Internet is good here (far, far better and more responsive than my workplace, which snoops everything).

Re: Spektrum Internet Sux [Re: Auae85] #4976612
01/11/19 11:47 PM
01/11/19 11:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 817
Central Oklahoma
tony1679 Offline
tony1679  Offline

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 817
Central Oklahoma
Ah, another city dweller internet speed thread. Complaining about 26-28 or even 12Mbps. I don't want to hear it. I pay $50/mo to a couple doing business out of their home for internet (it's my only option) and I receive a whopping (claimed) 2Mbps. Or I could pay $75 for 4Mbps, or $100 for 6Mbps. In reality, since they're factually oversubscribed, it usually averages about 250Kbps. If I upgrade, I still receive roughly the same 250K. So I kept the cheapest plan. I keep them because they don't play any games regarding data caps. There aren't any. Of course, why would there be? I would be ecstatic if someone offered 12Mbps for even $100/mo without cable or any other service. Sign me up.

While I do agree with the 'I should receive what I pay for' mindset, I just can't understand why people get angry about 12+Mbps. Limit the kids' Netflix time, and tell little Johnny to quit doing so much 'homework' and even 12 can do anything you ask it to.


'16 Hyundai Elantra 1.8L 78k
'13 Honda Civic 1.8L 48k
'08 Chevy Impala SS 5.3L 133k (Tuned- AFM is EVIL!)
\/SP & WIX FTW
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™