Recent Topics
Help with parasitic draw?
by buck91. 09/24/18 05:57 PM
Costco Car Buying Program
by dkryan. 09/24/18 05:39 PM
Glass Scrub?
by buck91. 09/24/18 05:03 PM
Loosing coolant from somewhere
by NICAT. 09/24/18 03:47 PM
2010 or so Ford Fusion Sport thoughts?
by ZZman. 09/24/18 03:35 PM
My boss killed his jeep.
by Chris142. 09/24/18 02:40 PM
Moly question about walmart oils
by jayjr1105. 09/24/18 02:33 PM
Questions About 9011 Bulbs
by knerml. 09/24/18 02:23 PM
Lubricant Additives - A Practical Guide
by wemay. 09/24/18 01:39 PM
Fram Ultra--Any Real Competition?
by IndyFan. 09/24/18 12:59 PM
Used generator price.
by Eddie. 09/24/18 11:55 AM
More energy concerns about Bitcoin
by OVERKILL. 09/24/18 10:01 AM
Soot loading from DI engines - Size of particles
by StevieC. 09/24/18 09:58 AM
Newest Members
albert001, LG_Electronics, TCam, OzFrog, Kursk
66062 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
92 registered members (aquariuscsm, 55hambone, Armkb, Ag76, 77GrandPrix, anndel, 10 invisible), 1,865 guests, and 32 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,955
Posts4,853,176
Members66,062
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? #4571183
11/11/17 08:20 PM
11/11/17 08:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
We had a tire/wheel switched on our new to us Impala from another Impala as the one that was on ours was scratched pretty decent, imo.

Needless to say, the Ford dealer didn't re-adjust or sync the system and on our way home, we received a low tire pressure warning. Reading today, I was surprised to read that I need to purchase a GM relearn tool in order to do this. I assume I have no other choice/options to do this?
On my 09 Sierra, it was fairly easy to do this myself, but I guess there is no money in that. crazy
Also thinking, I assume most garage/tire places would have this tool, or once purchased, is it only good for your car and no one else's?


2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571201
11/11/17 08:33 PM
11/11/17 08:33 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,109
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,109
ME
Can you chase down the old sensor/ wheel?

Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571210
11/11/17 08:48 PM
11/11/17 08:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 40,910
'Stralia
Shannow Online content
Shannow  Online Content
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 40,910
'Stralia
https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthr...ing#Post4523711

has how to do it for a variety of cars.

On my Colorado, I had to buy a reset tool off ebay, as the deflate/reinflate method didn't work.

Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: eljefino] #4571211
11/11/17 08:50 PM
11/11/17 08:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
Originally Posted By: eljefino
Can you chase down the old sensor/ wheel?


No. The dealer had 4 of these Impalas on their lot so I have no idea, as they likely don't know now either, what car it was switched out with.
The dealer is also an hour away in the rat race of a city they call Toronto (Brampton, which is the same difference, only slightly north of Toronto) so I am not into returning at all. crazy


2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: Shannow] #4571217
11/11/17 08:57 PM
11/11/17 08:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
Originally Posted By: Shannow
https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthr...ing#Post4523711

has how to do it for a variety of cars.

On my Colorado, I had to buy a reset tool off ebay, as the deflate/reinflate method didn't work.


Thanks for that! I'll give a go tomorrow. cheers
http://jameshalderman.com/images/domestic_tpms_relearns_1-4.pdf


2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571221
11/11/17 09:02 PM
11/11/17 09:02 PM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 717
Canada
i_hate_autofraud Offline
i_hate_autofraud  Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 717
Canada
You can get a GM dealer to sych the tire for a fee as usual, shop around, dealer fees vary.

In my case I got the Autel TS401 TPMS scan tool kit and it can do many makes and models as well
as test key fob signals. Google the specs to be sure. You buy new or used including Ebay, Craigslist,
etc. I got mine on sale at Princess Auto (Ontario) See info and Pics in this PDF, its accurate:

TPMS TIRE PRESSURE SYSTEM TIPS
https://app.box.com/s/0rbfj9slxte2ewlhy8dk0ltyhlchm1he

To put your Impala into Tire relearn, see Pics on Page 3 of the PDF below. You put the car
into relearn mode by pressing 2 buttons on the key fob at the same time, then you use the
scanner to trigger each TMPS module in sequence.

HOW TO SET TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS)
https://www.box.com/s/k5yyk9uep12euam0ribb

Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: i_hate_autofraud] #4571232
11/11/17 09:11 PM
11/11/17 09:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
Originally Posted By: i_hate_autofraud
You can get a GM dealer to sych the tire for a fee as usual, shop around, dealer fees vary.

In my case I got the Autel TS401 TPMS scan tool kit and it can do many makes and models as well
as test key fob signals. Google the specs to be sure. You buy new or used including Ebay, Craigslist,
etc. I got mine on sale at Princess Auto (Ontario) See info and Pics in this PDF, its accurate:

TPMS TIRE PRESSURE SYSTEM TIPS
https://app.box.com/s/0rbfj9slxte2ewlhy8dk0ltyhlchm1he

To put your Impala into Tire relearn, see Pics on Page 3 of the PDF below. You put the car
into relearn mode by pressing 2 buttons on the key fob at the same time, then you use the
scanner to trigger each TMPS module in sequence.

HOW TO SET TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS)
https://www.box.com/s/k5yyk9uep12euam0ribb



Thanks. cheers

I will be sure to check out Princess Auto as I always like an excuse to visit. smile My wife, who works at the GM office here in Oshawa said she was going to ask one of the managers what they use/do? They are under contract with Mills for oil changes/warranty work, etc, and they come right to where they work, take the cars back to their dealership, do the work then return the car(s) back where they got them all while you're at work. It's a great deal, imo, so hopefully that's how it works out come the spring when we put her summer tires/wheels back on.

Last edited by irv; 11/11/17 09:12 PM.

2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: i_hate_autofraud] #4571266
11/11/17 09:40 PM
11/11/17 09:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
Originally Posted By: i_hate_autofraud
You can get a GM dealer to sych the tire for a fee as usual, shop around, dealer fees vary.

In my case I got the Autel TS401 TPMS scan tool kit and it can do many makes and models as well
as test key fob signals. Google the specs to be sure.
You buy new or used including Ebay, Craigslist,
etc. I got mine on sale at Princess Auto (Ontario) See info and Pics in this PDF, its accurate:

TPMS TIRE PRESSURE SYSTEM TIPS
https://app.box.com/s/0rbfj9slxte2ewlhy8dk0ltyhlchm1he

To put your Impala into Tire relearn, see Pics on Page 3 of the PDF below. You put the car
into relearn mode by pressing 2 buttons on the key fob at the same time, then you use the
scanner to trigger each TMPS module in sequence.

HOW TO SET TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS)
https://www.box.com/s/k5yyk9uep12euam0ribb


[i][/i]

That's a pricey little sucker! It's the only one they carry, by the looks of things, so I am curious what the sale price was when you purchased your's?
https://www.princessauto.com/en/detail/maxitpms-ts401-tpms-diagnostic-service-tool/A-p8454365e
Hopefully the other avenues/tricks work so I don't have to purchase one of these?


2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571291
11/11/17 10:00 PM
11/11/17 10:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 40,910
'Stralia
Shannow Online content
Shannow  Online Content
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 40,910
'Stralia
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Newest-VXSCAN-EL-50588-TPMS-Relearn-Tool-TPMS-Actrivation-tool-TPMS-Reset-Tool/302422336511?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

Is the one that I bought

Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571356
11/11/17 11:03 PM
11/11/17 11:03 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
FL, USA
shurguywutt Offline
shurguywutt  Offline
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
FL, USA
I've had a brand new set of tires put on at Costco and found one tire 15 psi low in the parking lot!


2008 Pilot 2WD J35Z1 148k
Maxlife Blend 10w-30
FRAM Ultra Synthetic
Fumoto F106SX
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4571359
11/11/17 11:06 PM
11/11/17 11:06 PM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 717
Canada
i_hate_autofraud Offline
i_hate_autofraud  Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 717
Canada


Yeah, it's $$. At the time 3-4 yrs ago the Autel TS401 TPMS scan tool kit was $100 off on sale, so it was about $199 at the time I think.
Worth hunting on Ebay or elsewhere as a used item.

Since I swap in winter tires/wheels in Dec and then off in April every year, I'll need it more then
once! Also if a sensor dies, the dash gets a persistent message I'd want to get rid of!

When buying replacement TPMS sensors I can test them BEFORE I pay!

Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: shurguywutt] #4571404
11/12/17 01:07 AM
11/12/17 01:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 6,205
New England
gathermewool Offline
gathermewool  Offline
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 6,205
New England
Originally Posted By: shurguywutt
I've had a brand new set of tires put on at Costco and found one tire 15 psi low in the parking lot!


Have you checked the tire press, OP? A bad or an uncalibrated sensor should trigger a TPMS warning light, not a low tire pressure warning, right?


'14 Forester XT FA20DIT (Cobb Stage 1)
Edge 0W-40 + FU filter
'15 Legacy FB25 (OEM Stage, uh, neg. 7?)
Edge 0W-20 + FU filter
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4577948
11/18/17 12:44 PM
11/18/17 12:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
FL, USA
shurguywutt Offline
shurguywutt  Offline
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 110
FL, USA
Yes, one tire was 15 psi low after install. I checked it in the parking lot. Easy fix for me but makes Costco install look very ugly IMHO.


2008 Pilot 2WD J35Z1 148k
Maxlife Blend 10w-30
FRAM Ultra Synthetic
Fumoto F106SX
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4579409
11/19/17 08:27 PM
11/19/17 08:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 493
Washington, DC
CapitalTruck Offline
CapitalTruck  Offline
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 493
Washington, DC
This is what you want. I bought it for my 2013 Silverado, it's the recommended tool for the DIYer. https://www.amazon.com/Kent-Moore-EL-50448-Pressure-Monitor-Activation/dp/B00A3UNYW8


2013 Silverado 4.8L VVT 4x4 97k mi - ACDelco Dexos Full Synthetic 5w30 (ExxonMobil variant), ACDelco PF48E
Re: TPM tool to reset/sync/re-learn tire pressure? [Re: irv] #4812257
07/12/18 12:59 PM
07/12/18 12:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
irv Offline OP
irv  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,568
Oshawa, Ont. Canada
Older post of mine but I was wondering if anyone has/uses this reset tool?
It's not a lot of money but I am sure shipping will make up for that without Prime?

Anyways, any info on these, how long they last, etc, would be appreciated.
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B06Y69G...rd_i=7420881011

Thanks cheers


2017 Chevy Impala 3.6 L.
2013 Ram 5.7 L Hemi Bighorn QC 4x4
2008 Chevy Malibu 2.4 L Ecotec
Pennzoil Platinum and/or Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for all 3.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™