Filter recommendations for dino oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What are some good filters for use with dino oil? Are there bigger and better filters one can pay a but more for?

Where do Toyota brand filters fall within the hierarchy of things?

Thanks

Any of your bottom end stuff should do, ST, STP, NAPA Pro Selects, Car Quest Red, Purolator, Fram, Pronto, etc. Only slightly more for AC or Motorcraft or maybe the Toyota. How good is any of it? Hard to say. Me? I look for a filter made in America by an American company.

I'm no expert but have most often used filters corporate to the vehicle ie...Ford-Motorcraft filter,GM-AC filter,Dodge/Chrysler-Mopar filter,Purolator also makes an excellent filter some on here use WM Supertech filters and like them i for personal reasons don't use Fram oil filters although i do use Fram air filters,Mobil One is a good filter and i believe O'Reillys house filters are Purolator,any of these sould work well with any oil you use.I don't know anything of Toyota filters as i don't own or drive anything but American vehicles,nothing wrong with them just my personal.

Last edited:
to add to labmans list, quaker state, around $3 for most at menards, never an issue, use often w conventional oil myself

Thanks.

How about a Mobil 1 or K&N? Oil will most likely be Pennzoil or GTX conventional 10w-40.

I like the vehicle (over 200K miles) and want to spend a few extra bucks if it helps the cause along a bit.

My new regimen is to purchase a M1 filter and just leave it on there for the whole 15K miles. This covers 3-5 OCI and is cost effective and saves time during an OC. Some BITOG'rs might have nightmares thinking that up to a cup of "dirty" oil has remained in the engine, however.

Last edited:
Don't just go out and buy an oil filter alone.

Look for the oil change deals where you get 5 qts. of your favorite oil and a filter.

Often you'll get a nice classic Purolator filter that will work really well.