Work SHOES? Any recommendations

I’m an automotive mechanic. I’m on a hard concrete floor almost all 8 hours of my day unless I’m towing or making road repairs. 39 years old, 6’4” 220lb guy with plantar fasciitis in one foot pretty bad that I can’t shake, fractured my back in a couple few places last year that still bothers me, so I’m looking for comfort and support due to my issues.

I’ve always gotten away with Nike air monarch (grandpa walking / cross training type shoes) or similar new balances (I think 626’s, still grandpa type walking / training shoes). My issues with them are since they’re leather (which I’m supposed to wear anyway, but it’s a bit un-enforced) they are hot / not very breathable, and the soles or tread tend to unglue and bubble / come off, likely due to contaminants in the shop I walk through.

I tried some “shoes for crews” and had to return them immediately, never had a shoe with so little cushioning.

Now I’m on some Reebok work shoes called sublite cushion I think. I thought they were comfy, but the lack of cushioning is starting to get to me. At least the soles are lasting since they’re actual work shoes

I think I need both support and cushion with my issues. I use superfeet or similar insoles with the proper arch support, but I think a lot of the cushioning is going to come from the shoe itself.

Any mechanics or blue collar guys here on their feet all day that have any shoe recommendations? I’ve never been a boot guy.

Thanks in advance!

Do yourself a favor and get you some 6”-8” leather lace up boots.

Do yourself a favor and get you some 6”-8” leather lace up boots.
another vote for thorogoods. i’ve tried a lot of boots over the years and nothing has come close to thorogoods. just make sure you get them a bit snug and be ready for a week of pain breaking them in.

Timberland Pro Pitt Boss is another good choice. Also, replace the original insoles with something with a little more support and cushion. See: The Insole Store.