tire inflators at all the gas stations are closed down?

I highly recommend the Milwaukee M18 compressor.
I have 3 vehicles, two tractors and four garden tractors plus a ZTR that I used to have to drive to my stationary air compressor. Now I can just walk to each and it's a quick job.
View attachment 217071
I just got this one. Feels solid and faster than my Ryobi. But the Ryobi had two sides. One for tires and one for beach toys. The Milwaukee is designed for tires.

I gave up on gas station tire inflators years ago, they were always a charge item (if working) in NYC
Costco being the exception, they have free air
I graduated to the M12 (later M18) inflator, I don't miss the inaccurate tire gauge and broken chucks at the station 🙄

These stations don't want to maintain this equipment anymore, so they just let it go till it breaks, and don't fix it. They're actually being kind of courteous if you think about it. At least they're giving you fair warning.

The last time I tried to use one, I put money in, and while the compressor started running, no pressurized air came out....but about 5 psi of my air went into their failed compressor.
That was probably the same day I went to Lowe's and got my own compressor. You should think about doing the same thing, and just forget about looking for air out in the wild.

I tend to choose the option of fixing the tire.........unless it is every vehicle I have with aluminum wheels that always have corrosion where the bead seats. All three have at least one wheel that leaks from the bead. My blazer with steel wheels are still all the way up after sitting for 7 years.

The pumps at the gas stations are perpetually in use around here.

My wife gets leaky tires all the time. I can't find my M18 pump half the time because she steals it.