Rental Bikes - My Introduction To Internally-Geared Hubs

We're in Fort Collins Colorado for a few days, and have rented bikes.

They are rugged beasts with heavy step-through frames, front-hub generators, and 5-speed rear hubs. They seem to be set up for maximum durability.

This is my first time riding a bike with an internally-geared rear hub. There are some things I really like about it, the biggest being the ability to downshift after coming to a sudden stop while in a higher gear.

I would like some lower gears for the hills, but so far we've been OK.

Lots of really good trails here. We've had really good rides the last two days, but it looks like we'll get rained out tomorrow.

20230610_103256_HDR.jpg

I love internally geared hubs. I think they should be 10 times more popular than they are. Sure they're slightly less efficient but for 99% of people riding bikes that doesn't matter.

AFAIK, the Rohloff Speed hub is the epitome of the internally geared hub: https://www.rohloff.de/en/products/speedhub/
Yeah, the hub alone costs more than most entire bicycles. I've ridden the Shimano Nexus and thought they were fine.

I have a couple of Sturmey Archer AW hubs, but those old English 3 speeds are a bit long in tooth now. But wicked cool and long lived. Rather like the idea of a simple hub that easily taken apart and easily oiled.

Have a 5 speed that I have never gotten around to getting going again. Want to say its a 3 speed but it can switch between wide and narrow ratio?

Bit less less work than my 3x9’s for sure, and a cool old beast. But around here the 3 speed was really a four speed: downhill, flat ground, not quite low enough, and walking.

The IG hubs have more loss but less of a pain than derailleur setups. But IMO their achilles heel is changing flats. Not hard but more tools.