Got a 2012 Subaru Legacy Premium CVT.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JTK

I got a new car yesterday. A 2012 Subaru Legacy Premium w/ CVT. I leased it. As much as I enjoyed my 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe AWD, at 71Kmi the thing was killing me with repairs, had yet another 1, possibly 2 wheel bearings failing and had a full T-belt replacement looming in the not so distant future, etc. All this on top of owing another ~$8500 on it (35 pymts). I bought the Santa Fe used from a dealer a little over 2yrs ago (it was at 39Kmi) and I was actually the 3rd owner of it. It started life as a rental. It was a great price which is why I bought it back then.

I had been shopping around for a few months, wanted something AWD with as decent fuel economy as possible and yet be affordable. Soob seemed to foot the bill.

Used prices are totally insane. Fairly beat looking 2008-2009 Imprezas are going for $17-19K and used Foresters or Legacys were out of the question due to cost. Pretty much anything used is crazy over-priced and they're getting the high prices for them!

The MSRP on the new Soob was $23764. The most they'd move off of sticker was $674, so they based the lease on $23100. With about $3K down in trade equity, my lease pymt is $258/mo for 36mo, 15K miles/year. They buyout/residual is 61% of MSRP. I was hoping for 55% like the 2011's, but no go on that. It was quite the ordeal bargaining for my trade allowance, new vehicle cost, etc. A root canal would have been more pleasant.

I'm real excited since this is one of the nicer cars I've owned!

As far as CVTs go, the only other ones I've driven were in Nissans. They're different, but it felt awesome in the Legacy. For my 80 mile highway commute it should be great. From what I've read, owners are regularly getting 32mpg tank/tank on the hyway with the 2010+ Legacy CVTs.