Engine issues caused by thin oils?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Your cars are not a great example since they are mainly European, and older. Mine is only five years old and also recommends C3 30 grade. Collectively the Germans at least didn't start recommending 20 grade oil until about four or five years ago, whether the engine was turbocharged or not. Of course the use case for those cars is a lot different over there than here as well.

I have a lot of experience with rebuilt turbochargers. My place of employment does at least a couple a week. Bearing failure is very rare, they almost always fail because of conditions external to the turbo.

Even if bearing temperature is 150°, or more, it clearly does not pose any problem long term to the life of the turbocharger. I know the viscosity is acceptable because I trust the engineering and I have seen it myself for well over a decade. There is also constant flow of fresh, 90-100° oil. Oil is only actually in the turbocharger for a few seconds, how much can it actually heat up?

End of the day most of the people here are concerned about their wife's daily driver or something, they aren't pulling 10k lbs through the Rockies, when this type of thing may actually matter.
Well, I would suggest that they actually are a great example of engine and turbocharger longevity. I credit both the oil cooler and oil specification on them for that longevity.

But, to your point, they do have different oil specifications than cars, even German and Swedish cars, built in the past couple of years.

Interesting that you car, as recently as five years ago, specified a -30 viscosity.

As far as the Rockies part, well, I used to drive a turbocharged car in the Rockies all the time. Still do. The one back then was turbocharged, as is the one now. I do push it. The boost is awesome, and at altitude, the car does really well compared with other NA cars on the road.