Do you use a Waterpik for your dental hygiene ?

Do you use a Waterpik for your dental hygiene in addition to brushing daily / flossing ?

If so, which brand do you use ?

I never used one and Waterpik is a name brand. I guess the generic term is water flosser.

I've been using one for several years now. My dental hygienist recommends using one. She tells me that she can tell who uses a water pick when she cleans their teeth. She says that patients who use a water pick have healthier gums.

Mine is a Waterpik. It works fine. About a year ago the pump quit cutting off when it reaches pressure. But it still does the job just fine. I've never used a different brand, so I can't say if they are any better or worse than others.

My dentist suggested a water pick as well but I was doped up on novocain so I may have been hallucinating.

Waterpick is great but is more like hosing down a dirty car before the actual wash. Keeps the toothbrush cleaner. Still floss.

Brushing & flossing daily + routine dental cleanings do not prevent periodontal disease?
"Normally" Yes, but in my case (gum recission and little pockets develop in my gums) argues for the water flosser to get into those areas that a brush and toothpaste don't. This is my dentist talking, and he makes no extra money from this advice.

Yes. Use a water pick with a couple of cap fulls of Listerine. Low setting, you don’t have to peel your gums back at a higher setting. Get your teeth cleaned for crying out loud at least 4 times a year. Or don’t. It’s your teeth, I don’t care.

I’ve been using one for a couple years on the advice/urging of my dental hygienist. After brushing & flossing, I’m surprised at the amount of gank that comes out while water picking.

Last edited:
I'm a daily flosser and wear a retainer every night to keep my teeth straight.
My wisdom teeth came in without issue but they are a pain to brush as I feel like throwing up getting back there. I have 3 total cavities, all in my wisdom teeth.