Current Job Market

Status
Not open for further replies.
I saw this post and wanted to start a new thread:

A month ago today I left my employer who I had been working for since July 2018 due to the fact that business had seen a major downturn (despite posting record breaking during the previous 18 month time period). On top of that we had massive turnover due to what I believe was a shift in company policy to pay their employees as little as they could get away with in the sense that they could still retain said employee(s) under those conditions. Thankfully I have a fair amount of money saved up and live without much expense so I've been fine simply taking the past month off to travel and also just have time for myself that I have not had for a long time it seems.

That all being said I have been out looking at what the job market has to offer in my local area to plot what my next adventure in earning will be. I have been working in a seasonal position for UPS in which I get to determine when I want to work which has been okay to pick up a few extra bucks and give me something to do. It seems like everyone is hiring right now and there are a superabundance of jobs that pretty much any person with a high school diploma and no experience can get and make anywhere between $15-$25 per hour. One of the biggest issues right now is with the covid shots and the fact that some employers are wanting to impose their own individual mandates on their workers and others are simply trying to figure out what to do be it weekly testing for those who have not (and perhaps refuse to) receive the shots. One major employer in my area is now seeing huge manpower shortages since they decided to mandate the shots for their workers, they have workers protesting on the street in front of company headquarters and many are simply deciding to retire or otherwise self-terminate their employment.