Should i take a federal job out of state?

Hello everyone,
I am working as a teacher in chartered school and as an adjunct instructor at local community College in south Texas. I have an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineer and PhD in material science. I was applying for federal jobs mostly in Texas for the past year, after several applications I got two interviews last month, one was a mechanical engineer position at DLA, whitehall ohio(which I applied even though its was out of state hoping they won't call me) and another engineer position as inspector at PHMSA, Houston. I received email last week with a tentative offer for the ohio job, they pay $68000 starting now I make $58000 and my house is paid for. My wife is against moving to ohio, she thinks it's a lateral move, since the money is not a big compared to what I make now. My family is not going to move with me. Should I take this federal job?
I never had engineering job before, as I was only teaching.
Imho I would stay put. Where you move could be where you stay. That happened to me. I wound up in the Phila suburbs. It would be a lie if I said oh this is what I envisioned when I was 22. 25 years goes by in the blink of an eye.

If you like Texas and want to stay in the area, find a job you would like there. If you actually like Ohio, then yes take the job.

When you say your family will not be moving, do you mean temporarily or for good? If you’re looking for a new start, the I guess the move would work. 😂

My first teaching job was $32k in base salary in 2014. :oops:😧
Our teachers make $72k for elementary (I looked was curious), and they quit all the time. Some leave to have a family. Not sure what a HS teacher gets but I was quite surprised what an elementary principal makes…

Edit another elementary teacher started at 57k in 2015 so it looks like it takes about 8 years to reach 72k in my town. They have masters and are about 30 years old.

Last edited: