Mobil 1 5w-30, 15,143 '07 Toyota Prius

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All!! Newbie here.. first post. Great website and a wealth of knowledge. I've started testing my oil the past year or so. And wow, so glad I'm not changing every 3-5k. I will be testing all oil samples as long as I don't forget.

Here is my first vehicle, a Prius that gets driven pretty hard. I've pretty much used Mobile 1 in it most of the time. What is your opinion for an oil that would possibly work better in this application and why? This engine starts and stops significantly more. It also stays in certain RPM ranges and uses the Hybrid drive to vary the speed instead of engine speed. It also feels like the engine gets less driveline torque feedback due to power running thru the Hybrid drive?? I'm running out of my M1 stock and don't mind trying and testing something new..

So here it is..
2007PriusTouringOilReport012810.jpg

Last edited:
welcome2.gif
to BITOG

I would not change a thing. Very good report.

Just remember that 15K on the Prius is like putting 8-10K on a regular auto due to the fact that most city driving is being handled by the electric motor.

And just one correction, it is Mobil not mobile.

Last edited:
Thanks Johnny.. made the correction.

As for M1 and my oil report, I've heard iron levels with M1 tend to be higher?? And with my report it seems true? Still a lot to learn...

You have to take the Mobil 1 high iron issue with a grain of salt. In the grand scheme of things those are not high iron numbers. If you like Mobil 1 try using their 5W-30EP oil which they say was designed for the 15K oil change.

For 15 K very good with an engine starting and stopping a lot. Vis and TBN look good for the miles, and the metals are not bad at all for the Prius.