is my extension cord bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: larryinnewyork
Originally Posted By: eljefino
PS if you put a power strip on the end of that cord and stick a voltmeter in I bet it goes under 100 volts when the compressor's running.

eljefino,
Question: Does the compressor actually need to be running ? ? ?
I'm no Electrician, but I always checked for voltage drop by just plugging a Voltage Meter into outlet or end of long extension cord.

The reason I ask is because I live in a Ranch house that's 50 ft. long.
I recently put in a separate line for my sump pump (dedicated breaker).
New line showed 120 V,,,, but so did the old line.

Yes, it must be running.

Just like how batteries see voltage drop under load, the equation is Vterminal = Vopencircuit - Current x resistance

There are pretty standard tables for resistance per 100ft for conductors, as well as what size cord should be used for how many amps for how many feet.

Even decent compressors can have pretty chintzy cords directly wired to them. Of course they can get away with it since the run is only a few feey, so the series resistance added is low between the terminal and the motor. That said, if you need to run a longer conductor set, consider rewiring with a heavier gauge conductor right to the conpressor, as every terminal adds additional series resistance above and beyond the conductor itself. For me to install my conpressor in the book I wanted, I had to run electrical longer. I also wanted flexibility to move it if desired. I wired in 10ga cord and it is perfect.

You attempted a hot start against built up compression. A motor is usually only rated for a limited number of starts in a row.