Navy Captain With The Right Stuff

Why the captain of a US Navy aircraft carrier fighting in the Red Sea is always posting about things like Taco Tuesday and cookies​

https://www.yahoo.com/news/why-captain-us-navy-aircraft-113001509.html

The best part to me was that he let the enlisted sailors sit in the captain's chair and eat a cookie.

As I understand it, they ran ship wide contests and lotteries to win 5 minutes in the Captain's chair with a cookie but by the end of the tour the Captain made sure that everyone who wanted 5 minutes in the chair got it. Too cool.
1709655144336.jpg

This young man is proud to provide continuous propulsion and electricity to the best **** ship in the Navy!

This story makes me proud to be an American.

I didn't read the article but my comment is on your commentary. I was a young enlisted Army soldier in the middle 1980's stationed in Berlin, Germany. My brother was a naval officer stationed on a Maritime Prepositioning Ship (MPS) at the same time. In 1986 the military conducted one of their infamous "REFORGER" exercises where they amass military weapons and personnel onto the European continent in training for another world war. REFORGER is the acronym for "return of forces to Germany" and during the cold war was a common annual mission.

When my brother's ship came into port in Bremerhaven, Germany, I hopped the duty train from Berlin to meet with him. I had a broken leg at the time so I was a bit crippled. When I met up with my brother he made arrangements for me to stay in the Captain's Quarters on the ship. I was junior enlisted at the time and here I was taking quarters in the O-6's room.