The morality of riding a bike married with kids

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been riding on the road for the last 25 years. I have young kids. My wife often rides pillion with me. My eldest son often rides pillion with me. When they're old enough, I'll encourage all my kids to get their bike licence. Everyday is just a roll of the dice for all of us, so I make sure to go through life doing the things I love - riding a motorcycle is one of those things!

As to whether it's moral - give me a break.

Originally Posted By: Mr Nice
95% of the time down here it's a careless driver that makes a left turn in front of a motorcycle and causes the accident.

I know a nurse that her husband was killed this way.

A lot of my coworkers and buddies ride. Every year or so I hear them talk about riding and I get to thinking about it and ramp up my research on what to start out with, classes to take, etc. Without fail, soon after my interest is reignited, I see someone get smashed or nearly smashed.

Most recently, a young kid in a turning lane made a u-turn right in front of a bike. He ignored his red turning arrow and went based on the straight-lane's green light. We also had a green light, and the bike who was in the lane next to me smashed right into the car. I got out to help the guy, and wrap up his bloody hands and legs (mostly superficial wounds, except for some nasty lacerations on his hands.) As an aside, neither knew what had happened or where to lay blame. Luckily, another lady and I gave a full account of the accident to the cops.

Before then, I saw some numb nut last minute realize that he had to exit to the left. He cut across two lanes and nearly took out a couple of bikers. The male biker was a little behind and reacted more quickly, but the female biker was almost hit, reacting at the last moment to brake hard and get out of the way. At that speed and with the suddenness of the lane change, she would have been dead had that moron hit her.