Recent Topics
Costco $70 off Bridgestone
by chiefsfan1
03/02/15 05:57 AM
is 10w30 considered heavy duty or similar HDEO ?
by leroyd92
03/02/15 03:13 AM
Centigrad to Fahrenheit made easy
by mjoekingz28
03/02/15 01:07 AM
cold weather roller bearing friction
by used_0il
03/02/15 12:49 AM
Nitrogen fill for $199
by Stewart Fan
03/01/15 10:19 PM
Jeep Cherokee Roaring Drone Noise
by Nick1994
03/01/15 10:09 PM
Magnatec at Walmart and VWB seal
by aquariuscsm
03/01/15 09:54 PM
Best Air Filter For A 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
by crazyoildude
03/01/15 09:52 PM
2003 Chevy Avalanche Z66 5.3
by OSUFan86
03/01/15 09:39 PM
Need help find a good work shoe for my brother.
by MetalSlug
03/01/15 09:31 PM
Radiant Floor Heat
by bustednutz
03/01/15 09:20 PM
Anyone use the "Hairmax" hair regrowth,from Costco
by daves66nova
03/01/15 09:18 PM
Newest Members
Koko4, Bianchi, Paul_B, Dexter55, timberjack
53005 Registered Users
Who's Online
57 registered (aquariuscsm, Al, 01whiteSVT, AZjeff, b1amgm47, 5 invisible), 734 Guests and 179 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53005 Members
66 Forums
227410 Topics
3627347 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3165849 - 10/24/13 07:12 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Miller88 Offline


Registered: 04/09/08
Posts: 7853
Loc: Onondaga County
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!


If little is good, more is better. :P
_________________________
'11 Focus MC 49K
'00 Cherokee PYB 125K
Ford filters on both!

Top
#3166184 - 10/24/13 12:10 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Phishin Offline


Registered: 05/01/12
Posts: 1583
Loc: Indiana
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
PHISHIN---so I read all 9 of your pages and looked at the pics, what do you think your final answer would be regarding the use of restore? as far as using it ($) every oil change it doesn't bother me much, if I cut down on oil consumption the cost balances out.do you think I should change the filter after 500 or so? also do you think that the combination and the volume of several additives could have caused all the goo in your filters? maybe the particulates were from normal engine breakdown (yours obviously had some!)that was stuck in the sludge of the engine you said was there? not doubting your findings by any means just trying a different p.o.v. thanks in advance
main question would you use it again?


Yes, I would use again. In fact, RESTORE is in the oil right now.

I thinking changing the oil filter after 500 miles isn't a bad idea. Is it needed? I don't think so. Heck, why don't you add RESTORE, and run it from 500 or go 3000 miles, and replace the filter? Cut your old one open and show us the results. Just don't cut the filter open with a Dremel like I did. It can contaminate your results.

This spring, I'll send my oil filter to someone on here with a filter cutter and post pics with another run of RESTORE.

Yes, I'd run RESTORE again. Yes, it's in my truck now. For me, since I burn a quart of oil every 500-1000 miles, and since I won't go over 3k miles with any filter, I don't change the oil. I just keep adding.

Originally Posted By: Miller88


If little is good, more is better. :P


When I started my "RESTORE experiment", I added two cans of the 6-cylinder cans. Since then, I've topped my truck off with 9-10 quarts of oil, and I added another 6-cylinder can. I've changed out the filter twice.


Edited by Phishin (10/24/13 12:11 PM)
_________________________
2010 Accord-LX K24: PU 5w30
2009 Subaru Forester 2.5X: Castrol 0w30
1990 Chevy K1500 350TBI: Frankenbrew
2008 Ruckus 50ccGET: M1R Mix

Top
#3166236 - 10/24/13 01:12 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Phishin]
Richtrashman Offline


Registered: 10/21/13
Posts: 65
Loc: Cincinnati OH
Phishin--- thanks for the reply! Will keep an eye on the pressure gauge and will post pics of the filter when I change and cut it. May take a bit, only put maybe 800 miles a month on it, anxious to see results or not! Will keep ya all posted
_________________________
2010 Optima 77k+ valv ML, ML ATF
1990 c2500 169k+ any oil
1988 Mitsu Mighty Max 98k ML
In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King


Top
#3179104 - 11/05/13 11:16 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
strat81 Offline


Registered: 01/09/10
Posts: 809
Loc: Nebraska
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.
_________________________
Molon Labe

Top
#3179121 - 11/05/13 11:36 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: strat81]
racin4ds Offline


Registered: 05/07/10
Posts: 429
Loc: Winchester, VA
Originally Posted By: strat81
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.


Ummm no. there isn't a sensor on a vehicle that could pick up the fact that this stuff is in the oil and throw a CEL. Its [censored] like this that spreads internet rumors!
_________________________
2001 Ford F150 (217,000 miles!)
2013 Nissan Sentra S (Wifeys)
1994 Civic Hatch-Fully Built B18C-R! (track car)
1995 Civic Hatch-DD (173k miles)

Top
#3179496 - 11/05/13 05:14 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: racin4ds]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 1695
Loc: Staten Italy
Originally Posted By: racin4ds
Originally Posted By: strat81
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.


Ummm no. there isn't a sensor on a vehicle that could pick up the fact that this stuff is in the oil and throw a CEL. Its [censored] like this that spreads internet rumors!


While I agree in this circumstance, What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
2012-2015

Top
#3180713 - 11/06/13 08:34 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: michaelluscher]
Phishin Offline


Registered: 05/01/12
Posts: 1583
Loc: Indiana
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.
_________________________
2010 Accord-LX K24: PU 5w30
2009 Subaru Forester 2.5X: Castrol 0w30
1990 Chevy K1500 350TBI: Frankenbrew
2008 Ruckus 50ccGET: M1R Mix

Top
#3180736 - 11/06/13 08:57 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Phishin]
demarpaint Offline


Registered: 07/03/05
Posts: 22190
Loc: NY
Originally Posted By: Phishin
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.


Well said.
_________________________
GOD Bless our Troops


Top
#3180834 - 11/06/13 10:36 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: demarpaint]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 1695
Loc: Staten Italy
Originally Posted By: demarpaint
Originally Posted By: Phishin
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.


Well said.


I agree...
Clapped out 305 or 351, It's a last ditch effort hide
3MZ-FE or VQ... Just.... Just no crush
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
2012-2015

Top
#3194478 - 11/22/13 05:57 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Richtrashman Offline


Registered: 10/21/13
Posts: 65
Loc: Cincinnati OH
Well, it has been almost a month exactly, about 770 miles since I added the RESTORE. I have to admit it did nothing to reduce the oil consumption. I didn't really expect much on that end due to valve seals, not necessarily scratched up cylinder walls.I would like to think I feel a little more power but it could be placebo effect. I did take the advice to change the filter at around 400 miles, because I was hearing some chatter like it was starving for lube, and the oil pressure had dropped maybe 5 psi. Put on new filter, problem solved, which leads me to a new question. These SBC engines are supposed to have a built in bypass in the block correct? Can (does) this malfunction?
_________________________
2010 Optima 77k+ valv ML, ML ATF
1990 c2500 169k+ any oil
1988 Mitsu Mighty Max 98k ML
In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King


Top
#3215397 - 12/13/13 10:32 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Bgallagher Offline


Registered: 04/17/12
Posts: 1360
Loc: Boston, MA
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!




lol
_________________________
2005 Chevy Equinox - 128k - M1HM and AC PF52 (non e-core)
2005 Chevy Malibu - 147k - Valv. Maxlife and AC PF457G

Top
#3216683 - 12/14/13 05:36 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Errtt Offline


Registered: 11/14/10
Posts: 2208
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!


Yes use all for a 10, but you can use half for a 5

Top
#3223098 - 12/20/13 07:59 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
CourierDriver Offline


Registered: 12/27/09
Posts: 3428
Loc: Tennessee
The engine is 23years old,,either rebuild it or put in a crate engine for about 3300 bucks and ride on,,,imho Its mechanical, they dont last forever.
_________________________
Le Sabre, mpg 23 city, 28 Hwy.105kmiles,,I will be out by the pool if u need me, life is short,get on with it....pour me a cold one.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2