Using toluene in gas - what to use as lubricant?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone, Newbie here from Malta! (europe)

Introductions first .. I have a 1999 JDM Honda S2000 with Mugen ECU, Mugen cooling mods, Mugen exhaust and Spoon throttle body.
In Malta there is only one type of petrol/gas fuel available. It should be 95 RON but in reality its probably closer to 92 RON (87 AKI)

My S2000, being JDM, has a compression ratio of 11.7 .. and added to the advanced timing of the Mugen ECU, resulted in "low speed knock" on multiple occassions.
For example, going uphill at 2-3000 rpm .. more than 50% throttle results in audible knocking.
Its worth mentioning that the Mugen ECU ignores all sensors (knock sensor, O2 sensors etc), so it always runs the engine with advanced timing (and lean mixtures), regardless if it is knocking or not. This, I think, is the reason why it is sold as a "Racing Only ECU". It is designed for Japanese N1 Races, where obviously there will not be any low-octane fuel problems.

I tried running my car on pump gas and on the OEM ECU ... it works really bad .. there is no knock, true (because it retards the timing) - but there are way too many flat spots .. and immediate hesitation on WOT .. it does not feel like an S2000 any more.
And its understandable .. my car is JDM, designed to be run on 100 RON .. and I am using 91 RON.

Someone on the S2KI forum recommended Toluene - I managed to find a chemical supply store locally and bought some.

At first, I tested the toluene mixture with the stock ECU ..
When I had a ~20% toluene mix, after an ECU reset, the engine felt perfectly fine on the stock ECU. Not as responsive as the Mugen ECU, obviously .. but there were no flat spots and no particular hesitation. So this confirmed that it was running very low on octane on standard pump gas.