92 Accord with 299000 km, ATF OCI with Dexron II?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 92 Accord LX automatic that is just about to hit 299000 km's. I'm the third owner of the car and I have been driving it for about 4 years now doing all of the regular maintenace required but one thing I haven't changed is the ATF in the tranny. The owner's manual says to change it every 30000 km's and I have put atleast 40000-50000 km's during my 4 years behind the wheel and I don't know when the last time the tranny oil was changed with the previous owner so who knows how many km's the ATF has seen. I'm a college student who really needs this car to last I can't afford a new car or tranny swap. I change the motor oil every 5000-6000km's and its running great but I also want the tranny to stay the same.

But I have heard from several people that tranny's that old running with really old tranny fluid should be just left the way they are until they're dead because putting new oil in a tranny used to old oil could break it? does that make sense? My family has a 91 Ford Aerostar with 259000 and the ATf was changed at 100000 and its running great.

Another thing I'm worried about is the previous owners did the bare minimum when servicing the car, cheapest spark plug, air filters and also the cheapest ATF and motor oil off the shelf. I checked the ATf its still red and looks good but its most likely a cheap brand and its old.

What do you guys thing? if I do change it should I stick with a good conventional Dexron II or M1, AMSOIL?

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Mr_Accord