GM 3800 - M1 0W-40...how long?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here. Long time looker, first time poster.

Here's some quick background before my question. I have the disease most here suffer from as well. All my cars have fresh oil in them, and I still have enough quarts left to do it all again. I stock 0w-40 M1, GC, and any others oils found on sale...also have 5 extra filters.

94 Mustang 5.0 gets Motorcraft 5w-30
2001 WS6 Trans Am gets GC

And now my question.

I have a 94 Regal with the 3800 V6 (non supercharged) and 109,000 miles. I found during my last oil change that 1/2 10w-40 & 1/2 10w-30 really reduced the oil consumption instead of straight 10w-30 (only added 1/3 qt in 4000 miles). With the pepboys coupons in hand, I bought some Mobil 0w-40 oil this last time. Also went and snagged some half price oil filters at AA. What are your guesses for how long this oil is capable of running in this car? What are some suggestions for checking up on the oil if I were to run an extended period? I have an oil analysis on the way from my last dino run, but the game changes with synthetic I assume.

My plan was to go 5,000 miles, do a filter change, top off, and take a sample. Based on the TBN of the sample and wear metals...go from there. It will take me about 4 months to go 5,000 miles.

I understand each engine/oil combo is different, so I guess I'm just looking for some general suggestions on how to get started.

Well I have a 3800 now, and have had one for 5 years considering both my past V6 F-bodies, and they are pretty easy on oil. If you can run the longer PF52 filter without it getting in the way or hitting something on that FWD car try running one.

I'd say 5,000mi is a bare minimum to start with... you will be perfectly safe going 5K, and I'd say in Atlanta climate you'll do fine up to 7500-10,000 depending on how you drive.