Silicone grease > white for vw shifter bushings?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I wondered about this someone in the VW forums claimed that it would be better. The Bentley manuals recommend white lithium.

Anyone an expert on this here?

I'm no expert - never owned a VW, never even worked on one.

But I don't think one needs to be to think this question through to a good recommendation.

What materials are being greased? Or, better said, what materials are the shifter bushings and what material goes through them?

If they are plastic or rubber, silicone grease would be the natural choice as it won't attack the rubber or plastic.

I hunted around and it seems that most lithium greases (the tub kind, not the aerosol) do have a petroleum base oil that will eventually degrade plastics and rubbers. The aerosol MSDS' vary considerably depending on the manufacturer, but it seems they can have a solvent as well as the petroleum base that wouldn't be good for common plastics.

Sure, there are some really really good engineering plastics out there with long-term solvent resistance, but it's a matter not of "if" but of "when" when you talk degradation.

One exception would be if the rubber is a silicone rubber, then silicone grease will degrade it and a petroleum product is okay.

Often you'll see advice to use silicone spray on your weatherstripping - the weather stripping is not affected by the silicone.

If they are metal, I don't think you can go wrong with *any* grease from white lithium on up. Thinking about it, a shifter bushing doesn't see vast rotation, isn't heavily loaded, etc...

That's my few thoughts...

later,
b

Are the shifter bushings exposed to the elements, or are they considered part of the passenger compartment? If exposed, I would use only silicone grease.

kd5byb, silicone grease can attack silicone rubber? Are you sure? I don't have any information to the contrary, but intuitively it just doesn't seem right.

Originally Posted By: Kestas