Pennzoil platinum in car for 2500 miles why clear?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've had pennzoil platinum in my 97 jetta for almost 2500 miles now, why is it so clear? i've had valvoline before, and it turned brown after 1000 or so, same thing with valvoline, but this pennzoil platinum is CLEAR! perfect yellow on the dipstick. PP is also priced pretty cheap, does it have a weak detergent or something? My car has 86k HARD abusive miles on it, and has had an OCI of Valvoline every 3k miles / 6months and has never had a drop of synthetic until 2500 miles ago when i was inspired by AAPs buy one get one free. I want to run a 4k intrevel with PP,because it's my first time running synthetic, then i want to run synthetic every 5500. If PP stays clean till the end of the 4k intrevel, i'm pondering not buying it again.
BTW
deadhorse.gif
i know

I'll be the first to say that I HATE Pennzoil. Their oil has had a bad rep for years with regards to sludge buildup inside motors.I've seen the engines apart,and my eyes do not lie.In what your describing here,sounds like some things never change.

Quote:

I'll be the first to say that I HATE Pennzoil. Their oil has had a bad rep for years with regards to sludge buildup inside motors.I've seen the engines apart,and my eyes do not lie.In what your describing here,sounds like some things never change.

So if an oil stays clean, that creates sludge???
smirk.gif

Sorry, the Pennzoil causes sludge is not true.

If you do a little searching here, you would find that out.

*IF* a engine had sludge, its going to have sludge with ANY oil if its changed at its recommended OCI.

Sludge is caused by something else than oil. Like running it too long, Coolant issues, Headgasket leaks, PCV issues.

My last engine I had apart @ 61k and 108k miles had NO sludge or varnish. And it ran Pennzoil 95% of the time.
approved.gif

How could that be?
confused.gif

Take care, Bill
patriot.gif