Changing Oil Brands

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've often heard that changing oil brands once you've been using a certain brand, was not a good thing to do. Can someone shed some light on this as to whether or not this might true. I've been using Quacker State regular oil not synthetic for my 2007 Camry with 28000 miles since purchasing it new. I change my own oil and filter, but if the time should come when I feel I would just rather take it to a dealer for a change and he doesn't use what I have been using, will there be potential problems down the road?
Thomas J

No potential oil-related problems should arise - when having the dealer change your oil and filter. No potential oil-related problems should arise if you change SL/SM - GF3/4 brand names every time you do an oil change. Dinos/conventional oils are all compatable with one another.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: ThomasJ49
I've often heard that changing oil brands once you've been using a certain brand, was not a good thing to do. Can someone shed some light on this as to whether or not this might true. I've been using Quacker State regular oil not synthetic for my 2007 Camry with 28000 miles since purchasing it new. I change my own oil and filter, but if the time should come when I feel I would just rather take it to a dealer for a change and he doesn't use what I have been using, will there be potential problems down the road?
Thomas J

In my 2006 J30A5 Honda V6, I changed out the FF((EM-based) and subsequently used similar EM Driveclean 5000 and DC 7500 until 21,500 miles. I had to bring my own oil at 5050 on the ODO when I switched out the FF and brought them the EM DC 5k instead of the Quaker Flake they normally use but after 21,500 miles, I too switched oils to Motorcraft and loved it instantly!