F150 Cam Phasers

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I own a 2007 F150 with the 5.4. Everyone knows about the potential for cam phaser failure in these engines, and I'm wondering how best to prevent the issue from victimizing me. What can I do to prevent it?

I cannot comment on the 5.4 but I have some experience on the 5.0. The best stop gap, kind of keep it running method so far is changing the oil early and using a 30 weight. Using what ever house brand 5w20 synthetic would cause stalling, rough idle and check engine lights maybe 6,000km in.

Having the oil control solenoids and phasers changed did not help much. I now run 5w30. It was able to clear the latest check engine light and not stall out. It still has a weird idle.

lots of these engines had issues but remember there were well over a million sold. I had an 04 up until 2015. Was a great truck. My recommendation is first do the sending unit back by the spare tire. So cheap and they are known to be crap. I used a Dorman if I remember correctly. Was good to go. I never had an issues with the phasers or the chains. I did make sure I was preventive and changed out the solenoids. There are updated solenoids. Only other issue I can remember is the passenger side window motor. This and 5k OCI's still has mine running. Sold it to a guy I work with and he's not don anything but tires and oil changes.

The bottom half of these engines are seriously strong. If you can take care of the top half you will have a solid truck. Issue is gas mileage....it sux!