Do diesels tend loosen up oil filters?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This last time I changed my oil I noticed the oil filter could have almost been removed by hand, maybe I didn't have it tightened enough i'm not sure, but I noticed a drop of black oil hanging off the bottom of the filter, and that's the first time I've noticed that EVER on this engine. This is my 6.7 cummins. Usually I tighten as much as I can with my hands then give it another 1/4-1/2 of a turn with the wrench depending on how good of a grip I had and never have issues getting the filter off the next time around. I've been changing the oil in this truck for 12 years now. What I have noticed is inconsistency with how tight they are the next time I go to change them. Sometimes they're good and snug, but in no way was it difficult to remove, then other times i'm like wow that thing was barely tight enough.

I crank mine on by hand as tight as it will go and it stays nice and tight for the full index. No issues yet.

Btw I'm just a skinny guy so that's why I go the little extra with the wrench cause I know any other guy would have it tighter.

I never go by that silly "rule", "Only tighten 1/2 to 3/4 of a turn after the gasket makes contact". That's asking for trouble... On ANY engine. I always oil up the gasket good, then tighten until it feels good and tight. That might be 3/4 turn... Or it might be 1 full turn, or even more. The point being, go by torque. Not by how far it turns.

You wouldn't dare employ that "rule" with your lug nuts or cylinder head bolts. So it only stands to reason, why would you with your oil filter?