Grease gun that doesn't suck

Status
Not open for further replies.
I bought one of these at O'Reilly but it's truly awful:

https://www.amazon.com/Performance-Tool-W54205-Mini-Grease/dp/B002V0AIWW

Not sure what I was doing wrong but all the grease was coming out of the "vent hole" and around the zerk fitting, not actually going into the tie rod ends. I have never used a grease gun before but I really think the tool was just junk. I'm going to return that and switch to a full size grease gun because I bought a full-size tube of AMSOIL grease I want to use instead of the one included with the mini grease fun.

Any suggestions for what to go with instead? Most of the ones at O'Reilly are Performance Tool which obviously sucks but what about FlexZilla? Those any good? Because we sell that and I'm willing to spend the money on it if it's worth it. Or should I buy something elsewhere?

Last edited:
The O'Reilly near me sells the Lincoln pistol grip, that's a nice gun but you can get it cheaper online. After using cheap auto parts store grease guns all my life I now have an OTC (rebranded Lincoln) pistol grip and an Alemite heavy duty lever gun. It's so much nicer using a decent grease gun, especially when you're greasing a semi truck with over 30 zerks.

Originally Posted by carloz
I have the Lincoln 1134. It is a little pricey but works fine.

Agreed.

The Lincoln grease gun costs more but is worth EVERY penny.

The one I paid $30 for over 30 years ago still works perfectly.

The Macnaught K29 or K32 are some of the best, there are Wanner from Switzerland also but are quite expensive. The old US brands are now made in India and China and not very good but they are cheap. If you really need a high quality gun then the Macnaught K32 is the way to go without breaking the bank for a wanner.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/K32-FLEXIGUN-400g-Grease-Gun-K32-01/223191057742?epid=9024928718&hash=item33f739454e:g:QjwAAOSwPfBbxQPt