Recent Topics
Update password ?
by meadows
Yesterday at 11:59 PM
Delayed Sleep Phase Disorder
by Reddy45
Yesterday at 11:56 PM
Nissan DLR put 0w20 in car that specs 5w30. worry?
by CrAlt
Yesterday at 10:40 PM
revive Nicd battery
by Donald
Yesterday at 10:27 PM
Need help finding an apartment for friend
by RazorsEdge
Yesterday at 10:07 PM
ceratec with redline 5w30?
by 08z06
Yesterday at 09:53 PM
does your COMCAST modem have weak wifi??
by edwardh1
Yesterday at 09:50 PM
I hate stuck thermostats
by jakewells
Yesterday at 09:49 PM
Mag1 75w90
by SavagePatch
Yesterday at 09:32 PM
Old batteries at HD
by bbhero
Yesterday at 09:27 PM
Buying a CPO Toyota - still get inspected?
by Parlay_Slow
Yesterday at 09:08 PM
Water Pump Paper Gasket With RTV? Longevity?
by nobb
Yesterday at 08:22 PM
Who makes Briggs & Stratton oil?
by spk2000
Yesterday at 08:13 PM
Shure stylus replacement
by aquariuscsm
Yesterday at 07:54 PM
Any 'crazy UCL overdose' fans out there?
by addyguy
Yesterday at 07:11 PM
Source for Castrol Edge Supercar 5w50 oil?
by Rainier42
Yesterday at 06:50 PM
Cherry vs orange hand cleaner
by JHZR2
Yesterday at 06:27 PM
Why buy low mileage tires?
by HowAboutThis
Yesterday at 05:49 PM
Mercury 35-8M0065104 cut open w/ oil change pics
by dlundblad
Yesterday at 05:37 PM
2019 Honda’s miniMOTOs (125cc)
by DuckRyder
Yesterday at 05:18 PM
Newest Members
mostdecent, T1TN, Piper58, dunlop0078, Truth_Syrup
65258 Registered Users
Who's Online
27 registered (boulderdentist, bubbatime, bbhero, AVB, clinebarger, bdcardinal, 3 invisible), 1008 Guests and 36 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65258 Members
67 Forums
285502 Topics
4764667 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4532191 - 10/02/17 05:00 PM Generator No Load Voltage?
Panzerman Offline


Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 4203
Loc: Port Orange, Florida
I have a PowerBack Generator.
11 hp Industrial Briggs Stratton on it. Haven't used it in awhile.
I fired it up today and I thought I would check the voltage. I am getting around 113 volts at each receptle.
I plugged some lights in it, they look good and when I run several items it seems to keep up fine. It's a 6000 watt generator.
Don't they idle adjust for loads?


Edited by Panzerman (10/02/17 05:01 PM)
_________________________

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Hemi 4x4
2016 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack

Top
#4532215 - 10/02/17 05:34 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
UncleDave Offline


Registered: 06/02/14
Posts: 1636
Loc: Ca.
Thats a constant RPM (prob 3600) genny.

It will throttle up or down to maintain 3600 but wont spin any lower than that.

You are thinking of an inverter generator that varies RPM under load and can idle down to a whisper under low load - thats not what you have.



UD
_________________________
Uncle Dave
Cat 3126/2 MB3500/Titan/RX400H/17 Ridgeline
700HP V10/ 725HP BBC/ Raptor 700/ KFX450/ YZ250/Onan 8K/ Cat3011C

Top
#4532219 - 10/02/17 05:45 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
Panzerman Offline


Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 4203
Loc: Port Orange, Florida
No. I got a Honda Whacker 6200 generator and it definitely changes rpms when you increase loads or subtract loads.
I really haven't used this Powerback as much. I took it camping once and ran my trailer with it but that was years ago. I can tell you the exhaust gets cherry red from heat which freaked me out do I changed the exhaust. It now sports a Polaris 500 Sportsman muffler and runs quieter and cooler.
_________________________

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Hemi 4x4
2016 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack

Top
#4532252 - 10/02/17 06:30 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32628
Loc: ME
They adjust for loads, but run the full 3600 RPM. You'll hear it throttle up when you turn on a hair dryer. Hey, try it!

No-load voltage on a cheap meter is open to interpretation. I bet if you used a different DVOM you'd get 117 volts. If, however, you could get the cycles-per-second that would be a great piece of data to have to see if it's running the spec 60 Hz.

I had the red exhaust from my old mean 8hp Briggs generator from 1977.

Top
#4532258 - 10/02/17 06:36 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
kc8adu Offline


Registered: 08/02/05
Posts: 894
Loc: dayton oh
i set them to maintain as close to 60hz as possible under load.
dont worry about voltage.
it will be close enough.

Top
#4532278 - 10/02/17 06:55 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
JHZR2 Offline



Registered: 12/14/02
Posts: 41758
Loc: New Jersey
They better not change from 3600 or the frequency will not be 60Hz. Inverter generators make a synthetic waveform so don't have this issue.

If equipped with an automatic voltage regulator, it should boost voltage under load.

Top
#4532286 - 10/02/17 07:02 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Panzerman]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12638
Loc: NE,Ohio
Those generators with idle control drop the rpms with no_load.

As soon as you put a load on it snaps to 3600rpm to provide 60hz power.

in your case you want to look at hertz while idling. which would tell you rpm when multiplied by 60.
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4532376 - 10/02/17 08:11 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: Rand]
user52165 Offline


Registered: 10/21/11
Posts: 1331
Loc: CA

Top
#4532395 - 10/02/17 08:26 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: kc8adu]
user52165 Offline


Registered: 10/21/11
Posts: 1331
Loc: CA
Originally Posted By: kc8adu
i set them to maintain as close to 60hz as possible under load.
dont worry about voltage.
it will be close enough.


Might want to rethink that.

Knew someone with a Honda non inverter genny that kept wrecking whatever he had plugged in. Portable 600 or 650 job. Great engines in those, but.............Said it "seems to run fast". It did. I tested it at 180+ volts. Had those stupid frequency lites Honda used to use and they indicated OK. Tested about 62Hz.


Edited by user52165 (10/02/17 08:30 PM)

Top
#4532434 - 10/02/17 09:10 PM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: kc8adu]
Linctex Offline


Registered: 12/31/16
Posts: 6148
Loc: Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: kc8adu
i set them to maintain as close to 60hz as possible under load.
dont worry about voltage.
it will be close enough.


EXACTLY.... get a Kill-A-Watt and adjust the governor spring when under load.
_________________________
"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."

Top
#4532677 - 10/03/17 07:51 AM Re: Generator No Load Voltage? [Re: user52165]
kc8adu Offline


Registered: 08/02/05
Posts: 894
Loc: dayton oh
if it is not an inverter type if it is at 3600rpm it WILL be on target voltage wise.
something else is up on that one.
if it sounds high it is.
a friend let something hit his in the truck and bent the throttle linkage.
ran way fast and blew mov's in everything he plugged it into.
easy fix for the generator and the damaged stuff.
once fixed and set right it ran 4 weeks without incident.
this was after ike.
the open design of this one leaves the linkage vulnerable.
it is literally a engine and alt on a tube frame/handle.
Originally Posted By: user52165


Might want to rethink that.

Knew someone with a Honda non inverter genny that kept wrecking whatever he had plugged in. Portable 600 or 650 job. Great engines in those, but.............Said it "seems to run fast". It did. I tested it at 180+ volts. Had those stupid frequency lites Honda used to use and they indicated OK. Tested about 62Hz.

Top