How does olm work and how accurate

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: CELICA_XX
I have no experience with the Ford OLM, but I have absolutely no faith in the GM "algorithm"

I service a 2.4 Ecotec that always sees severe service. Many short trips and long hours of idling per day. It averages 62 miles per percentage point.

Last month I changed the oil/filter, reset the computer back to 100%, and took off for a road trip out of state.

Upon returning home with all gentle highway miles, it still counts at 62 miles per 1 percent drop.

I agree. That seems to be my finding with my Impala. 92 miles per percentage point, regardless of the type of driving, ambient temp, way I drive, etc.

I have been changing oil in my '03 Alero, with the 3400 V6, to the OLM interval for over 183,000 miles now. And judging from what I can see through the oil fill, the engine interior looks great. I'd go snap a picture and attach, but I have never attached pictures here and don't know how. (Guess I need to learn). Being somewhat new here, I have yet to send in a uoa off this car.

My OLM typically goes off between 6,500 and 6,800 miles. I have been told by others that the GM OLM system is more complex. But according to the Owner's Manual, the OLM in my Alero uses engine revolutions and engine temperature as the inputs to calculate oil life.

I have no experience with the Ford OLM, but I have absolutely no faith in the GM "algorithm"

I service a 2.4 Ecotec that always sees severe service. Many short trips and long hours of idling per day. It averages 62 miles per percentage point.

Last month I changed the oil/filter, reset the computer back to 100%, and took off for a road trip out of state.

Upon returning home with all gentle highway miles, it still counts at 62 miles per 1 percent drop.