Your opinion on gas vs electric cooking when buying a house

I bought a house to rehab and flip. My elder brother is doing most of the work. I have no experience using gas to cook with. My current home has an induction cooktop and it is much better than traditional electric coil and smooth tops in my experience.

The home I'm rehabbing has a 30" smooth top range. The home has natural gas heat and a gas water heater and my brother said he can easily convert the kitchen for a gas range and add a proper ducted range hood.

Because of the recent attention to gas cooking, I'm thinking a gas range would make the house more desirable when on the market.

If you were looking at buying a house, would you want gas or electric? What if the house had an induction range?

MY house has instant on halogeon cooktop which could be another option. I think it depends on whether you are marketing the house with a "Chefs Kitchen" or not. Most people who like to cook a lot prefer gas. I cook a fair amount and the smooth cook top that I have is easy to clean. Personally I would hate to clean the top of a gas stove.

I and everyone I know would prefer a gas stove.
Friends who went to chef school remember fighting with fellow students to get to the gas stoves first.

However, I've never been a "single issue" home buyer and I think induction is acceptable. My brother and SIL love their new one.

If the building had no gas service, I'd stick with electric/induction.

Also, there are considerations for forgetful elderly people within a household. Sometimes an electric stove with a safety turn off can be needed.

I prefer a gas range range over electric. The type of cooking would have little if any in my decision to buy a particuliar house. Outside of California, it will be a very long time before the availability of gas stoves are limited.

For me, gas heat is the most important to me and was my major factor when I purchased my home.

Last edited: