Should I stick with premium fuel ? GM LTG 2.0 Turbo

I’ve been purchasing premium gasoline for our Buick regal for the past five years. The engine is the somewhat infamous LTG 2.0 turbo from GM. This particular engine has a reputation for grenading due to preignition issues. How risky would it be to switch to regular unleaded?. Any LTG owners out there running regular? Thanks 😊

Not an owner however, does your owner's manual "REQUIRE" premium fuel?
If so, you should stay with premium fuel. On the other hand, if not then use whichever grade you like.

There is a difference(which you may/may not know) between "REQUIRED" & "RECOMMEND".

Also, the grenading that you mention is typically caused by too many wide open throttle(WOT) applications to RED LINE(in any engine). Some engines can take it better than others. Could also be poor design but, I've heard good things about this engine. :)

Proper lubrication or a slightly higher grade of oil(more robust) may be necessary for this engine or aggressive WOT. It can't just be about gasoline. Seems as though improper lubrication could be the cause of the grenading of others LTG 2.0L Turbo engine.

Proper lubrication for the driving style is key as well as proper fuel for that style. Be it if you only drive like you stole the vehicle or like grandpa. Use what is appropriate.

I’m assuming it’s a 2015 since you said 5 years... owners manual I found online states 91 for the 2.0 turbo. You *can* use 87 but states “Regular unleaded gasoline rated at 87 octane or higher can be used, but acceleration and fuel economy WILL be reduced, and an audible knocking noise may be heard. If this occurs, use a gasoline rated at 91 octane or higher as soon as possible.” Emphasis mine.

The few bucks saved by using 87 isn’t worth the potential engine damage IMO.